Docsity
Docsity

Prepare for your exams
Prepare for your exams

Study with the several resources on Docsity


Earn points to download
Earn points to download

Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan


Guidelines and tips
Guidelines and tips

NFHS Football Exam Study questions with verified solutions, Exams of Sport Studies

NFHS Football Exam Study questions with verified solutions

Typology: Exams

2024/2025

Available from 07/11/2025

smart-scores
smart-scores 🇺🇸

5

(2)

7.4K documents

1 / 14

Toggle sidebar

This page cannot be seen from the preview

Don't miss anything!

bg1
NFHS |! Football |! Exam |! Study |!
questions |! with |! solutions
Targeting |! is |! an |! act |! by |! any |! player |! who |! takes |! aim |! and |! initiates |! contact |!
against |! an |! opponent |! above |! the |! shoulders |! with |! the |! helmet, |! forearm, |! hand, |!
fist, |! elbow |! or |! shoulders. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! True
No |! defensive |! player |! shall |! commit |! any |! illegal |! personal |! contact |! foul |! listed |! in |!
rule |! 9-4-3 |! against |! the |! passer. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! True
The |! game |! officials |! shall |! assume |! authority |! for |! the |! contest, |! including |!
penalizing |! unsportsmanlike |! acts, |! 15 |! minutes |! prior |! to |! the |! scheduled |! game |!
time |! - |! an |! earlier |! time |! if |! required |! by |! the |! state |! association. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |!
answer |! False
Face |! tackling |! is |! an |! act |! by |! any |! player |! who |! initiates |! contact |! against |! an |!
opponent |! at |! the |! shoulders |! or |! below |! with |! the |! crown |! (top |! portion) |! of |! his |!
helmet. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! False
The |! referee |! shall |! have |! the |! authority |! to |! correct |! the |! number |! of |! the |! next |!
down |! prior |! to |! the |! ball |! becoming |! live |! after |! a |! new |! series |! of |! downs |! is |!
awarded. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! True
pf3
pf4
pf5
pf8
pf9
pfa
pfd
pfe

Partial preview of the text

Download NFHS Football Exam Study questions with verified solutions and more Exams Sport Studies in PDF only on Docsity!

NFHS |! Football |! Exam |! Study |!

questions |! with |! solutions

Targeting |! is |! an |! act |! by |! any |! player |! who |! takes |! aim |! and |! initiates |! contact |! against |! an |! opponent |! above |! the |! shoulders |! with |! the |! helmet, |! forearm, |! hand, |! fist, |! elbow |! or |! shoulders. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True No |! defensive |! player |! shall |! commit |! any |! illegal |! personal |! contact |! foul |! listed |! in |! rule |! 9-4-3 |! against |! the |! passer. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True The |! game |! officials |! shall |! assume |! authority |! for |! the |! contest, |! including |! penalizing |! unsportsmanlike |! acts, |! 15 |! minutes |! prior |! to |! the |! scheduled |! game |! time |! - |! an |! earlier |! time |! if |! required |! by |! the |! state |! association. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False Face |! tackling |! is |! an |! act |! by |! any |! player |! who |! initiates |! contact |! against |! an |! opponent |! at |! the |! shoulders |! or |! below |! with |! the |! crown |! (top |! portion) |! of |! his |! helmet. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False The |! referee |! shall |! have |! the |! authority |! to |! correct |! the |! number |! of |! the |! next |! down |! prior |! to |! the |! ball |! becoming |! live |! after |! a |! new |! series |! of |! downs |! is |! awarded. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True

Illegal |! helmet |! contact |! may |! not |! be |! judged |! a |! flagrant |! act |! by |! the |! game |! official. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False No |! player |! or |! nonplayer |! shall |! make |! any |! other |! contact |! with |! an |! opponent, |! including |! a |! defenseless |! player, |! which |! is |! deemed |! unnecessary |! or |! excessive |! and |! which |! incites |! roughness. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True The |! accidental |! touching |! of |! a |! loose |! ball |! by |! a |! player |! who |! was |! blocked |! into |! the |! ball |! is |! ignored |! and |! does |! not |! constitute |! a |! new |! force. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Tru A |! defenseless |! player |! is |! a |! player |! who, |! because |! of |! his |! physical |! position |! and |! focus |! of |! concentration, |! is |! especially |! vulnerable |! to |! injury. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True When |! the |! ball |! is |! loose |! following |! an |! illegal |! kick, |! it |! does |! not |! retain |! the |! same |! status |! as |! prior |! to |! the |! illegal |! kick. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False If |! a |! free |! kick |! goes |! out |! of |! bounds |! between |! the |! goal |! lines |! touched |! inbounds |! by |! R, |! the |! ball |! is |! put |! in |! play |! by |! R |! at |! the |! inbounds |! spot. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True Blocking |! is |! obstructing |! an |! opponent |! by |! contacting |! him |! with |! any |! part |! of |! the |! blocker's |! body. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True

opponent, |! the |! player |! must |! leave |! the |! game |! for |! at |! least |! one |! down |! (unless |! halftime |! or |! overtime |! intermission |! occurs). |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True If |! a |! player |! does |! not |! have |! a |! helmet |! that |! met |! the |! NOCSAE |! test |! standards |! when |! manufactured, |! he |! may |! participate, |! but |! a |! 5-yard |! penalty |! shall |! be |! enforced. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False When |! any |! required |! equipment |! is |! missing, |! correction |! must |! be |! made |! before |! participation. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True Between |! the |! first |! and |! second |! periods |! and |! between |! the |! third |! and |! fourth |! periods, |! the |! teams |! may |! or |! may |! not |! change |! goals. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False If |! there |! was |! an |! inadvertent |! whistle |! during |! the |! last |! timed |! down |! of |! the |! period, |! the |! period |! is |! not |! extended |! by |! an |! untimed |! down. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True A |! period |! shall |! not |! be |! extended |! by |! an |! untimed |! down |! if, |! during |! a |! down |! in |! which |! time |! expires, |! fouls |! for |! which |! enforcement, |! by |! rule, |! result |! in |! a |! safety. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True State |! high |! school |! associations |! may |! determine |! the |! length |! of |! halftimes, |! provided |! it |! is |! not |! less |! than |! 10 |! minutes |! and |! not |! more |! than |! 20 |! minutes. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True

The |! period |! shall |! be |! extended |! if, |! during |! a |! down |! in |! which |! time |! expires, |! B1 |! commits |! an |! unsportsmanlike |! foul |! and |! the |! penalty |! is |! accepted. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False Giving |! an |! invalid |! fair-catch |! signal |! carries |! a |! 15-yard |! penalty. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False Only |! the |! receiver |! who |! gives |! a |! valid |! fair-catch |! signal |! is |! afforded |! protection. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True Only |! one |! receiver |! may |! give |! a |! signal |! for |! a |! fair |! catch |! while |! any |! legal |! kick |! is |! in |! flight. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False A |! fair-catch |! signal |! given |! by |! a |! receiver |! in |! his |! own |! end |! zone |! is |! not |! a |! foul. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True It |! is |! illegal |! for |! R1 |! to |! fair-catch |! a |! free |! kick |! in |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False It |! is |! a |! field |! goal |! even |! though |! part |! of |! the |! ball |! passes |! through |! the |! line |! of |! the |! upright |! extended. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False A |! find |! goal |! may |! be |! scored |! by |! a |! free |! kick |! following |! a |! safety. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False

A |! non |! player |! foul |! may |! influence |! the |! play |! in |! progress. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False If |! B1 |! intercepts |! and |! is |! downed; |! and |! then |! A1 |! and |! A2 |! both |! pile |! on, |! it |! is |! a |! multiple |! foul. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False If |! both |! teams |! commit |! fouls |! during |! the |! same |! dead-ball |! period |! and |! the |! second |! foul |! is |! committed |! prior |! to |! the |! enforcement |! of |! the |! first |! foul, |! it |! is |! a |! double |! foul. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False A |! free |! kick |! which |! goes |! out |! of |! bounds |! belongs |! to |! the |! kicking |! team. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False If |! K1 |! is |! first |! to |! touch |! a |! free |! kick |! between |! the |! free-kick |! lines, |! such |! touching |! is |! ignored. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False A |! punt |! may |! be |! used |! as |! a |! free |! kick |! following |! a |! fair |! catch. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False A |! place-kick |! following |! an |! awarded |! fair |! catch |! may |! score |! a |! field |! goal. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True A |! player |! cannot |! fumble |! before |! gaining |! possession. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False

A |! dead |! ball |! may |! become |! live |! only |! by |! a |! legal |! snap |! or |! free |! kick. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True Penalties |! are |! either |! 5, |! 10 |! or |! 15 |! yards. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True Illegal |! participation |! can |! be |! a |! non |! player |! foul. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False The |! clock |! shall |! start |! with |! the |! snap, |! if |! the |! clock |! was |! stopped |! because |! of |! an |! inadvertent |! whistle. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True It |! is |! illegal |! participation |! if |! any |! player |! internationally |! goes |! out |! of |! bounds |! and |! returns |! during |! the |! down. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True Kick-catching |! interference |! carries |! a |! 15-yard |! penalty |! plus |! a |! loss |! of |! down. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False Following |! a |! change |! of |! possession, |! if |! an |! inadvertent |! whistle |! is |! sounded, |! the |! down |! must |! be |! replayed. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False A |! coach |! who |! has |! been |! disqualified |! may |! not |! have |! further |! direct |! or |! indirect |! contact |! with |! his/her |! team |! during |! the |! remainder |! of |! the |! game. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True If |! a |! loss-of-down |! foul |! by |! A |! occurs |! during |! a |! successful |! try, |! there |! is |! not |! score |! and |! the |! down |! is |! replayed. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False

The |! horizontal |! crossbar |! and |! the |! uprights |! above |! it |! shall |! be |! free |! of |! all |! decorations |! other |! than |! paint, |! which |! is |! recommended |! to |! be |! either |! silver, |! white |! or |! yellow. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True The |! referee |! is |! the |! final |! judge |! as |! to |! the |! legality |! of |! the |! game |! ball. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True The |! bottom |! edge |! of |! the |! crossbar |! shall |! be |! 10 |! feet |! above |! the |! ground. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True If |! K's |! blocked |! punt |! strikes |! the |! ground |! and |! is |! then |! forced |! into |! K's |! end |! zone |! by |! R2 |! and |! recovered |! there |! by |! R3, |! it |! is |! a |! touchback. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False On |! kicks |! entering |! R's |! end |! zone, |! the |! determination |! of |! force |! dictates |! whether |! it |! is |! a |! touchback |! or |! a |! safety. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True Possession |! of |! a |! live |! ball |! in |! the |! opponent's |! end |! zone |! is |! always |! a |! safety. |! T/F |!

  • |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False It |! is |! a |! safety |! if |! A1 |! retreats |! into |! A's |! end |! zone |! and |! fumbles |! the |! ball |! beyond |! the |! end |! line. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True No |! single |! charged |! time-out |! shall |! exceed |! one |! minute. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True

The |! clock |! shall |! be |! stopped |! when |! an |! illegal |! forward |! pass |! is |! incomplete. |! T/F |!

  • |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True An |! official's |! time-out |! can |! be |! called |! for |! unusual |! heat |! or |! humidity |! situations. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True A |! clock |! will |! start |! with |! the |! ready-for-play |! following |! a |! television |! time-out. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False The |! clock |! shall |! not |! start |! on |! first |! touching |! by |! K. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True After |! the |! ball |! goes |! out |! of |! bounds, |! the |! clock |! always |! starts |! with |! the |! ready- for-play. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False When |! the |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! following |! a |! fourth |! down, |! the |! clock |! must |! be |! stopped. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True A |! signal |! to |! end |! a |! period |! shall |! be |! sounded |! when |! the |! time |! expires |! (clock |! indicates |! 0:00) |! during |! the |! down. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔False If |! a |! free |! kick |! is |! repeated |! due |! to |! a |! foul, |! the |! clock |! shall |! start |! when |! the |! free |! kick |! is |! touched, |! other |! than |! first |! touching |! by |! K. |! T/F |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔True

An |! act |! by |! any |! player |! who |! initiates |! contact |! with |! the |! front |! of |! his |! helmet |! against |! an |! opponent |! who |! is |! not |! a |! runner |! is: |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Butt |! Blocking When |! weather |! conditions |! are |! construed |! to |! be |! hazardous |! to |! life |! or |! limb |! of |! the |! participants, |! the |! crew |! of |! game |! officials |! is |! authorized |! to: |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Delay |! or |! suspend |! the |! game The |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! and |! the |! down |! ends |! when: |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔A. |! A |! game |! official |! sounds |! their |! whistle |! inadvertently. |! B. |! The |! helmet |! comes |! completely |! off |! of |! a |! player |! who |! is |! in |! possession |! of |! the |! ball. |! C. |! A |! love |! ball |! goes |! out |! of |! bounds. |! ANY |! OF |! THE |! ABOVE. A |! free |! kick |! is |! not |! repeated |! unless: |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔A. |! A |! foul |! occurs |! prior |! to |! a |! change |! of |! possession |! and |! the |! penalty |! acceptance |! requires |! a |! replay |! of |! the |! down. |! B. |! There |! is |! a |! double |! foul. |! C. |! There |! is |! an |! inadvertent |! whistle |! during |! the |! kick. |! ANY |! OF |! THE |! ABOVE.

For |! any |! free |! kick, |! a |! free-kick |! line, |! corresponding |! to |! a |! scrimmage |! line, |! is |! established |! for |! each |! team. |! These |! lines |! are |! always |! 10 |! yards |! apart. |! Unless |! moved |! by |! a |! penalty, |! K's |! free-kick |! line |! is: |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔A. |! Its |! 40-yard |! line |! for |! a |! kickoff. B. |! Its |! 20-yard |! line |! after |! a |! safety. |! ANY |! OF |! THE |! ABOVE. The |! penalty |! for |! failure |! to |! properly |! wear |! mandatory |! equipment |! during |! the |! down |! is: |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔ 5 |! yards, |! succeeding |! spot. The |! penalty |! for |! an |! illegal |! forward |! pass |! from |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! is: |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔5-yard |! penalty |! and |! loss |! of |! a |! down The |! following |! would |! by |! B |! gives |! A |! an |! automatic |! first |! down: |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔A. |! Roughing |! the |! kicker |! or |! holder. B. |! Roughing |! the |! passer. C. |! Roughing |! the |! snapper. |! ANY |! OF |! THE |! ABOVE. With |! first |! and |! 10 |! from |! A's |! 10-yard |! line, |! A1 |! drops |! back |! into |! his |! end |! zone, |! where |! he |! is |! tackled |! by |! a |! pulling |! of |! the |! face |! mask/helmet |! opening |! and |! fumbles. |! The |! ball |! rolls |! out |! of |! bounds |! at |! A's |! 5-yard |! line. |! What |! is |! the |! ruling? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Following |! penalty |! administration, |! it |! will |! be |! A's |! ball, |! first |! and |! 10 |! at |! A's |! 25 |! yard |! line.