







Study with the several resources on Docsity
Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan
Prepare for your exams
Study with the several resources on Docsity
Earn points to download
Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan
Community
Ask the community for help and clear up your study doubts
Discover the best universities in your country according to Docsity users
Free resources
Download our free guides on studying techniques, anxiety management strategies, and thesis advice from Docsity tutors
NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 8 (Scoring Plays and Touchback) exam with verified answers
Typology: Exams
1 / 13
This page cannot be seen from the preview
Don't miss anything!
Runner |! A10 |! dives |! into |! the |! pylon |! at |! the |! intersection |! of |! the |! goal |! line |! and |! sidelines |! and |! the |! ball |! breaks |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! goal |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Touchdown. |! Assuming |! the |! pylon |! was |! placed |! properly, |! the |! ball |! broke |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! goal |! line |! prior |! to |! the |! touching |! of |! the |! pylon. 8.2.2 |! SITUATION |! A: During |! (a) |! A9's |! run |! for |! a |! touchdown, |! B2 |! holds |! A1, |! or |! (b) |! K1's |! field |! goal, |! R2 |! holds |! K1. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! A |! will |! likely |! keep |! the |! score |! and |! may |! choose |! to |! enforce |! the |! penalty |! on |! the |! try |! or |! enforce |! the |! penalty |! on |! the |! subsequent |! kickoff. |! In |! (b), |! K |! may |! keep |! the |! points |! and |! have |! the |! penalty |! enforced |! from |! the |! succeeding |! spot, |! or |! have |! the |! penalty |! enforced |! from |! the |! previous |! spot |! and |! replay |! the |! down. |! (8-4-3) 8.2.2 |! SITUATION |! B: On |! the |! down |! in |! which |! time |! expired |! for |! the |! second |! period, |! Team |! A: (a) |! scores |! a |! field |! goal |! or(b) |! scores |! a |! touchdown. In |! both |! cases, |! the |! opponents |! of |! the |! scoring |! team |! commit |! a |! live-ball |! foul. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! the |! offended |! team |! has |! the |! option |! to |! keep |! the |! score, |! with |! the |! penalty |! assessed |! on |! the |! second |! half |! kickoff |! as |! this |!
is |! the |! succeeding |! spot. |! In |! (b), |! the |! offended |! team |! has |! the |! option |! to |! keep |! the |! score, |! with |! penalty |! assessment |! on |! either |! the |! try |! or |! on |! the |! second |! half |! kickoff |! as |! this |! would |! be |! the |! subsequent |! kickoff. 8.2.2 |! SITUATION |! C: During |! the |! down |! in |! which |! time |! expires |! for |! hte |! fourth |! period, |! the |! opponents |! of |! Team |! A |! foul |! on |! a |! play |! where |! Team |! A: (a) |! scores |! a |! touchdown |! that |! leaves |! Team |! A |! trailing |! by |! one |! point,(b) |! scores |! a |! field |! goal |! which |! ties |! the |! game, |! or(c) |! scores |! a |! touchdown |! that |! leaves |! team |! A |! trailing |! by |! one |! point |! and |! the |! opponents |! also |! foul |! on |! the |! try. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! Team |! A |! has |! the |! option |! to |! keep |! the |! score, |! with |! the |! penalty |! assessed |! on |! the |! try. |! The |! penalty |! cannot |! be |! assessed |! on |! the |! first |! play |! of |! overtime |! as |! there |! is |! no |! subsequent |! kickoff. |! In |! (b), |! Team |! A |! has |! the |! option |! to |! keep |! the |! score, |! with |! penalty |! assessment |! on |! the |! first |! play |! of |! overtime |! as |! the |! first |! play |! of |! overtime |! is |! the |! succeeding |! spot. |! In |! (c), |! Team |! A |! may |! only |! have |! the |! penalty |! for |! the |! opponent |! foul |! on |! the |! scoring |! play |! enforced |! on |! the |! try |! but |! cannot |! carry |! over |! the |! penalty |! to |! overtime; |! however, |! the |! foul |! by |! the |! opponent |! during |! the |! try |! could |! be |! enforced |! on |! the |! first |! play |! of |! overtime |! at |! Team |! A's |! choice. *8.2.2 |! SITUATION |! D: A1 |! scores |! a |! touchdown. |! After |! the |! score, |! B |! commits |! a |! (a) |! dead-ball, |! (b) |! unsportsmanlike |! or |! (c) |! nonplayer |! foul |! prior |! to |! the |! initial |! ready-for-play |! on |! the |! try. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! (b) |! or |! (c), |! Team |! A |! may |! elect |! to |! enforce |! the |! foul |! at |! the |! succeeding |! spot |! or |! on |! the |! subsequent |! kickoff. 8.2.2 |! SITUATION |! E: Prior |! to |! the |! ball |! being |! thrown |! during |! a |! play |! in |! which |! A1 |! catches |! a |! touchdown |! pass |! and |! advances |! for |! a |! touchdown, |! B1 |! holds |! A2 |! to |! prevent |!
A |! has |! a |! huge |! lead |! and |! scores |! another |! touchdown |! in |! the |! third |! period, |! and |! the |! captain |! of |! A |! informs |! the |! referee |! that |! his |! team |! does |! not |! wish |! to |! attempt |! the |! try. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! There |! is |! no |! choice. |! A |! shall |! attempt |! a |! try, |! or |! at |! least |! snap |! the |! ball. 8.3.2 |! SITUATION |! A: Following |! a |! penalty, |! the |! try |! is |! from |! B's |! 8. |! A1 |! advances |! to |! B's |! 4 |! and |! fumbles. |! The |! fumble |! rolls |! into |! the |! end |! zone |! where |! B1 |! intentionally |! bats |! or |! kicks |! the |! ball |! across |! the |! end |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! measurement |! for |! the |! penalty |! for |! B1's |! foul |! is |! from |! B's |! 4 |! where |! A1's |! run |! ended. |! The |! new |! try |! is |! from |! the |! 2-yard |! line |! anywhere |! between |! the |! hash |! marks. |! (9-7-1, |! 9-7-2, |! 10-3-2, |! 10-3-3, |! 10-4-3) 8.3.2 |! SITUATION |! B: During |! a |! try |! by |! place-kick, |! the |! kick |! by |! K1 |! is |! blocked |! by |! R1 |! and |! recovered |! by |! K2, |! who |! advances |! across |! R's |! goal |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! try |! is |! unsuccessful. |! The |! try |! and |! down |! ended |! when |! the |! attempted |! place |! kick |! was |! blocked |! and |! it |! was |! obvious |! the |! kick |! would |! not |! score. |! The |! covering |! official |! should |! sound |! his |! whistle |! immediately |! when |! it |! is |! apparent |! the |! kick |! will |! not |! score. |! (4-2-2i) 8.3.2 |! SITUATION |! C: During |! a |! try, |! A1 |! completes |! a |! pass |! to |! A2 |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! and: |! (a) |! ineligible |! A3 |! was |! illegally |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone; |! or |! (b) |! A4 |! interfered |! with |! B1; |! or |! (c) |! B2 |! interfered |! with |! A2. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! if |! the |! 5- yard |! penalty |! is |! accepted, |! the |! try |! will |! be |! repeated. |! In |! (b), |! if |! the |! 15-yard |! penalty |! is |! accepted, |! the |! try |! will |! be |! repeated. |! In |! (c), |! A |! undoubtedly |! will |! accept |! the |! result |! of |! the |! play |! and |! enforce |! the |! penalty |! from |! the |! succeeding |! spot. |! (7-5-10 |! PENALTY, |! 7-5-12 |! PENALTY, |! 8-3-5)
During |! a |! try, |! a |! fumble |! by |! A1 |! is |! nearly |! at |! rest |! on |! the |! 3-yard |! line |! when |! a |! muff |! by |! B1 |! is |! judged |! by |! the |! game |! official |! to |! be |! a |! new |! force |! causing |! the |! ball |! to |! go |! into |! B's |! end |! zone |! where |! B2 |! recovers |! and: |! (a) |! downs |! the |! ball |! in |! the |! end |! zone; |! or |! (b) |! advances |! to |! his |! 10-yard |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! try |! ends |! and |! the |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! when |! B2 |! recovers. |! In |! any |! ordinary |! down, |! such |! a |! dead |! ball |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! would |! be |! a |! safety, |! therefore, |! one |! point |! is |! scored |! for |! A |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b). |! (4-2-2i, |! 8-1, |! 8-5-2b) 8.3.3 |! SITUATION |! B: During |! a |! non-kick |! try, |! A1 |! fumbles |! the |! ball, |! and |! in |! scrambling |! to |! recover |! the |! ball |! and |! avoid |! defenders, |! retreats |! into |! his |! own |! end |! zone |! where |! he |! is |! tackled |! in |! possession |! of |! the |! ball. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! ball |! is |! dead |! and |! no |! points |! are |! awarded. |! B |! cannot |! score |! on |! a |! try. 8.3.5 |! SITUATION |! A: During |! a |! kick |! try: (a) |! B1 |! holds |! and |! the |! try |! is |! successful; |! or(b) |! A1 |! holds |! and |! the |! try |! is |! successful; |! or(c) |! B1 |! roughs |! the |! kicker/holder |! and |! the |! try |! is |! unsuccessful. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! A |! may |! accept |! the |! score |! and |! have |! the |! penalty |! enforced |! from |! the |! succeeding |! spot |! or |! enforce |! it |! from |! the |! previous |! spot |! and |! replay |! the |! down. |! In |! (b), |! B |! undoubtedly |! will |! accept |! the |! penalty |! and |! replay. |! In |! (c), |! A |! obviously |! would |! accept |! the |! penalty |! and |! replay. |! (8-3- 7, |! 10-5-2) 8.3.5 |! SITUATION |! B:
(a) |! a |! fair |! catch; |! or(b) |! an |! awarded |! fair |! catch; |! or(c) |! a |! safety |! followed |! by |! a |! couple |! of |! dead-ball |! penalties. In |! all |! three |! cases, |! K1 |! place |! kicks |! the |! ball |! between |! the |! uprights |! and |! over |! the |! crossbar. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Field |! goal |! in |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! and |! touchback |! in |! (c). |! [8-4-1, |! 8-4-2, |! 8-5-3a(1)] 8.4.3 |! SITUATION: With |! fourth |! and |! 5 |! from |! B's |! 18, |! K1's |! field-goal |! attempt |! is |! successful. |! B1 |! roughs |! the |! kicker/holder. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! K |! may |! accept |! the |! result |! of |! the |! play |! (3 |! points) |! and |! have |! the |! penalty |! enforced |! from |! the |! succeeding |! spot, |! or |! accept |! the |! penalty. |! If |! the |! penalty |! is |! accepted |! and |! K |! retains |! possession, |! it |! will |! be |! first |! and |! goal |! from |! R's |! 9-yard |! line. |! (9-4-5, |! 10- 5-1f) 8.5.1 |! SITUATION |! A: R1 |! returns |! the |! second |! half |! kickoff |! to |! K's |! 10 |! and |! fumbles: (a) |! the |! ball |! rolls |! into |! K's |! end |! zone; |! or(b) |! K1 |! attempts |! to |! recover |! and |! forces |! the |! ball |! into |! his |! own |! end |! zone. In |! both |! cases, |! the |! ball |! is |! in |! K's |! end |! zone |! and |! no |! player |! of |! either |! team |! attempts |! to |! recover. |! The |! referee, |! after |! waiting |! a |! few |! seconds, |! sounds |! his |! whistle. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! It |! is |! a |! touchdown |! for |! R |! both |! in |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! as |! the |! fumbling |! team |! retains |! possession. |! (8-2-1c, |! 8-5-2b) 8.5.1 |! SITUATION |! B: It |! is |! first |! down |! and |! 10 |! on |! A's |! 12. |! A |! fumble |! by |! A1 |! is |! still |! rolling |! slowly |! on |! A's |! 4-yard |! line. |! During |! an |! attempt |! to |! recover |! the |! ball, |! A2 |! pushes |! B1 |! into |! the |! ball |! causing |! the |! ball |! to |! roll |! across |! the |! goal |! line |! where |! it |! is |! recovered |! by:
(a) |! A3 |! who |! is |! downed |! there; |! or(b) |! A4 |! who |! advances |! to |! A's |! 15; |! or(c) |! B2 |! who |! is |! downed |! immediately. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Safety |! in |! (a). |! In |! (b), |! it |! is |! A's |! ball |! on |! the |! 15 |! and |! the |! next |! down |! is |! second |! and |! 7. |! In |! (c), |! it |! is |! a |! touchdown. |! (2-13-1, |! 7-4-2, |! 8-5-2b) 8.5.1 |! SITUATION |! C: A |! scrimmage |! kick |! by |! K1 |! from |! his |! own |! end |! zone |! is |! muffed |! in |! flight |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! by |! R1 |! and |! rebounds |! into |! the |! end |! zone |! where |! it |! is |! recovered |! by |! K2. |! The |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! when |! K2 |! is |! tackled |! there. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! This |! is |! a |! safety |! because |! the |! force |! which |! put |! the |! ball |! into |! the |! end |! zone |! was |! still |! the |! kick |! by |! K1. |! R |! will |! be |! awarded |! 2 |! points |! and |! K |! will |! free |! kick |! from |! K's |! 20-yard |! line. |! (8-5-2b) 8.5.1 |! SITUATION |! D: It |! is |! first |! down |! and |! 10 |! on |! A's |! 3. |! Runner |! A1 |! fumbles |! on |! his |! 2-yard |! line. |! B1 |! intentionally |! kicks |! the |! loose |! ball |! which |! is: (a) |! on |! A's |! 2; |! or(b) |! in |! the |! end |! zone. The |! ball |! then |! goes |! out |! of |! bounds |! behind |! the |! goal |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Undoubtedly, |! Team |! A |! will |! decline |! the |! penalty |! in |! (a) |! and |! take |! the |! touchback. |! A |! will |! accept |! the |! penalty |! in |! (b), |! because |! declining |! it |! would |! give |! B |! a |! safety. |! (8-5-2b, |! 8-5-3c, |! 9-7-1) *8.5.1 |! SITUATION |! E: A1's |! forward |! pass |! is |! intercepted |! in |! B's |! end |! zone |! by |! B1 |! who |! attempts |! to |! advance, |! but |! is |! downed |! there. |! B2 |! clips |! at |! B's |! 3: |! (a) |! during |! B1's |! run, |! or |! (b) |! after |! B1 |! is |! downed. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! It |! is |! a |! touchback |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! and |! the |! basic |! spot |! is |! the |! succeeding |! spot. |! In |! (a), |! it |! is |! first |! and |! 10 |! for |! B |! from |! B's |! 1 ½-yard |! line. |! In |! (b), |! the |! dead-ball |! foul |! will |! be |! penalized |!
regardless |! of |! the |! muff. |! If |! the |! covering |! official |! has |! doubt, |! he |! will |! rule |! that |! the |! force |! was |! supplied |! by |! the |! kick, |! thus |! resulting |! in |! a |! safety. |! If |! the |! covering |! official |! rules |! R1 |! supplied |! the |! force, |! it |! is |! a |! touchback. |! (8-5-2b) 8.5.2 |! SITUATION |! D: Fourth |! and |! 15 |! for |! A |! from |! its |! own |! 8-yard |! line. |! A1 |! is |! in |! punt |! formation |! and |! receives |! the |! snap |! in |! his |! end |! zone, |! but |! fumbles |! the |! ball. |! A1 |! quickly |! recovers |! and |! throws |! a |! forward |! pass |! to |! ineligible |! A2, |! who |! is |! also |! in |! the |! end |! zone. |! A2 |! muffs |! the |! ball |! and |! it |! falls |! incomplete. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! If |! B |! accepts |! the |! penalty |! for |! A2's |! illegal |! touching, |! it |! results |! in |! a |! safety. |! If |! B |! declines |! the |! penalty |! for |! the |! foul |! by |! A2, |! the |! result |! is |! B's |! ball |! first |! and |! goal |! from |! A's |! 8-yard |! line. |! (5-1-3c, |! 7-5-13 |! PENALTY, |! 8-5-2c, |! 10-5-6) 8.5.2 |! SITUATION |! E: B1 |! intercepts |! a |! pass |! on |! B's |! 4-yard |! line |! with |! his |! momentum |! taking |! him |! directly |! toward |! his |! goal |! line: (a) |! B1 |! fumbles |! on |! the |! 1-yard |! line, |! or(b) |! B1 |! is |! contacted |! by |! A2 |! and |! the |! ball |! comes |! loose |! on |! the |! 2-yard |! line. In |! both |! cases |! B2 |! recovers |! the |! ball |! in |! B's |! end |! zone |! and |! is |! downed |! there. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! It |! is |! a |! safety |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b). |! Once |! B1 |! gained |! possession |! in |! the |! field |! of |! play, |! he |! is |! responsible |! for |! the |! fumble |! which |! is |! the |! force |! which |! put |! the |! ball |! into |! the |! end |! zone. |! Had |! B1 |! not |! fumbled, |! the |! momentum |! exception |! would |! have |! been |! in |! effect. 8.5.2 |! SITUATION |! F: B1 |! intercepts |! on |! his |! own |! 4-yard |! line |! and |! his |! momentum |! takes |! him |! into |! B's |! end |! zone.
(a) |! B1 |! advances |! out |! of |! the |! end |! zone |! and |! runs |! to |! his |! own |! 35-yard |! line; |! or(b) |! B1 |! runs |! out |! of |! the |! end |! zone |! then |! circles |! back |! into |! it |! and |! is |! downed |! there; |! or(c) |! B1 |! is |! hit |! and |! fumbles |! and |! A1 |! falls |! on |! the |! loose |! ball |! in |! the |! end |! zone; |! or(d) |! B2 |! holds |! A1 |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! as |! B1 |! is |! downed |! there. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal |! advance |! in |! (a). |! In |! (b), |! it |! is |! a |! safety. |! Once |! B1 |! advances |! out |! of |! the |! end |! zone |! as |! in |! (a) |! or |! (b), |! the |! exception |! is |! canceled |! and |! action |! thereafter |! dictates |! the |! result |! of |! the |! play. |! Touchdown |! for |! A |! in |! (c). |! In |! (d), |! the |! foul |! by |! B2 |! occurred |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! behind |! the |! basic |! spot |! resulting |! in |! a |! safety. |! (7-5-4, |! 8-2-1, |! 8-5-2a |! EXCEPTION, |! 10-4-3, |! 10-6) 8.5.2 |! SITUATION |! G: B1, |! while |! in |! full |! stride |! at |! B's |! 2-yard |! line (a) |! intercepts |! a |! backward |! pass;(b) |! intercepts |! a |! fumble; |! or(c) |! recovers |! a |! grounded |! fumble |! or |! backward |! pass |! and |! his |! momentum |! carries |! him |! into |! his |! end |! zone |! where |! he |! is |! downed. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a),(b) |! and |! (c) |! the |! ball |! would |! belong |! to |! B |! at |! the |! spot |! where |! the |! backward |! pass |! or |! fumble |! was |! intercepted |! or |! recovered |! as |! the |! momentum |! exception |! applies. 8.5.2 |! SITUATION |! H: R1, |! while |! in |! full |! stride |! at |! his |! 2-yard |! line (a) |! catches |! a |! punt |! over |! his |! shoulder; |! or(b) |! recovers |! a |! grounded |! punt. His |! momentum |! carries |! him |! into |! his |! end |! zone |! where |! he |! is |! downed. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! the |! ball |! would |! belong |! to |! R |! at |! the |! spot |! where |! the |! punt |! was |! caught |! or |! recovered |! as |! the |! momentum |! exception |! applies. 8.5.3 |! SITUATION |! A:
bounds |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! or |! batted |! the |! backward |! pass |! in |! flight |! so |! that |! it |! went |! over |! the |! end |! line, |! the |! result |! is |! a |! touchback. |! It |! will |! be |! first |! and |! 10 |! for |! B |! from |! its |! 20-yard |! line. |! (8-5-3c, |! 9-7-2) 8.5.3 |! SITUATION |! D: A1 |! is |! running |! on |! an |! attempted |! two-point |! conversion. |! Immediately |! prior |! to |! reaching |! the |! goal |! line, |! B1 |! contacts |! A1, |! who |! fumbles |! the |! ball |! forward |! into |! B's |! end |! zone |! and |! the |! ball |! touches |! the |! ground |! and |! continues |! to |! roll. |! In |! order |! to |! prevent |! recovery, |! B2 |! bats/kicks |! the |! ball |! over |! the |! end |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! B |! has |! committed |! a |! foul |! for |! illegal |! kicking |! or |! batting. |! The |! result |! of |! the |! play |! is |! a |! touchback |! as |! A1's |! fumble |! is |! the |! force |! that |! put |! the |! ball |! into |! the |! end |! zone. |! The |! end |! of |! the |! run |! is |! where |! player |! possession |! was |! lost |! by |! A1. |! If |! A |! accepts |! the |! batting/kicking |! foul, |! it |! is |! enforced |! from |! the |! spot |! where |! possession |! was |! lost |! and |! A |! will |! replay |! the |! try.