Docsity
Docsity

Prepare for your exams
Prepare for your exams

Study with the several resources on Docsity


Earn points to download
Earn points to download

Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan


Guidelines and tips
Guidelines and tips

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 7 (Snapping, Handing, and Passing the Ball), Exercises of Sport Studies

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 7 (Snapping, Handing, and Passing the Ball) exam with verified answers

Typology: Exercises

2024/2025

Available from 07/11/2025

smart-scores
smart-scores 🇺🇸

5

(2)

7.4K documents

1 / 26

Toggle sidebar

This page cannot be seen from the preview

Don't miss anything!

bg1
NFHS |! Football |! Case |! Plays |! - |! Rule |! 7 |!
(Snapping, |! Handing, |! and |! Passing |! the |! Ball) |!
exam |! with |! verified |! answers
7.1.3 |! SITUATION:
A's |! linemen |! take |! their |! positions |! and |! snapper |! A1 |! has |! made |! preliminary |!
adjustments. |! Prior |! to |! the |! snap |! A1:
(a) |! tilts |! the |! ball |! to |! an |! angle |! of |! 90 |! degrees; |! or(b) |! lifts |! the |! ball |! and |! pushes |! it |!
forward |! in |! order |! to |! make |! a |! deep |! snap |! or;(c) |! rotates |! the |! ball |! end |! for |! end; |!
or(d) |! removes |! both |! hands. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! RULING: |! Legal |! in |! (a). |! It |! is |!
a |! snap |! infraction |! in |! (b), |! (c) |! and |! (d). |! The |! covering |! official |! will |! sound |! his |!
whistle |! immediately, |! signifying |! the |! ball |! remains |! dead. |! A |! snap |! infraction |! is |!
a |! dead-ball |! foul |! and |! the |! penalty |! of |! 5 |! yards |! is |! administered |! from |! the |!
succeeding |! spot. |! (2-40-2, |! 4-1-6, |! 7-1-2, |! 7-1-3, |! 10-4-4b)
7.1.5 |! SITUATION:
Following |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal, |! but |! before |! A |! has |! taken |! any |! positions |!
on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! B1 |! is |! either |! in |! or |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! facing |!
his |! teammates |! while |! giving |! defensive |! signals. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! RULING: |!
Encroachment |! by |! B1. |! (2-8)
7.1.6 |! SITUATION |! A:
When |! A |! comes |! to |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! the |! linemen |! assume |! their |! final |!
positions |! such |! that: |! (a) |! five |! linemen |! penetrate |! the |! vertical |! plane |! through |!
the |! waistline |! of |! the |! snapper |! while |! the |! head |! of |! the |! sixth |! penetrates |! the |!
pf3
pf4
pf5
pf8
pf9
pfa
pfd
pfe
pff
pf12
pf13
pf14
pf15
pf16
pf17
pf18
pf19
pf1a

Partial preview of the text

Download NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 7 (Snapping, Handing, and Passing the Ball) and more Exercises Sport Studies in PDF only on Docsity!

NFHS |! Football |! Case |! Plays |! - |! Rule |! 7 |!

(Snapping, |! Handing, |! and |! Passing |! the |! Ball) |!

exam |! with |! verified |! answers

7.1.3 |! SITUATION:

A's |! linemen |! take |! their |! positions |! and |! snapper |! A1 |! has |! made |! preliminary |! adjustments. |! Prior |! to |! the |! snap |! A1: (a) |! tilts |! the |! ball |! to |! an |! angle |! of |! 90 |! degrees; |! or(b) |! lifts |! the |! ball |! and |! pushes |! it |! forward |! in |! order |! to |! make |! a |! deep |! snap |! or;(c) |! rotates |! the |! ball |! end |! for |! end; |! or(d) |! removes |! both |! hands. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal |! in |! (a). |! It |! is |! a |! snap |! infraction |! in |! (b), |! (c) |! and |! (d). |! The |! covering |! official |! will |! sound |! his |! whistle |! immediately, |! signifying |! the |! ball |! remains |! dead. |! A |! snap |! infraction |! is |! a |! dead-ball |! foul |! and |! the |! penalty |! of |! 5 |! yards |! is |! administered |! from |! the |! succeeding |! spot. |! (2-40-2, |! 4-1-6, |! 7-1-2, |! 7-1-3, |! 10-4-4b) 7.1.5 |! SITUATION: Following |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal, |! but |! before |! A |! has |! taken |! any |! positions |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! B1 |! is |! either |! in |! or |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! facing |! his |! teammates |! while |! giving |! defensive |! signals. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Encroachment |! by |! B1. |! (2-8) 7.1.6 |! SITUATION |! A: When |! A |! comes |! to |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! the |! linemen |! assume |! their |! final |! positions |! such |! that: |! (a) |! five |! linemen |! penetrate |! the |! vertical |! plane |! through |! the |! waistline |! of |! the |! snapper |! while |! the |! head |! of |! the |! sixth |! penetrates |! the |!

plane |! drawn |! through |! the |! waistline |! of |! the |! nearest |! teammate |! who |! is |! on |! his |! line |! of |! scrimmage; |! or |! (b) |! one |! interior |! lineman |! has |! his |! head |! penetrating |! the |! neutral |! zone |! while |! the |! other |! linemen |! are |! all |! penetrating |! the |! vertical |! plane |! of |! the |! snapper's |! waistline. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! it |! is |! illegal |! formation |! which |! is |! a |! foul |! simultaneously |! with |! the |! snap. |! The |! offended |! team |! will |! be |! given |! the |! option |! of |! taking |! the |! result |! of |! the |! play |! or |! accepting |! the |! penalty |! and |! replaying |! the |! down. |! In |! (b), |! it |! is |! encroachment |! for |! a |! player |! to |! have |! any |! part |! of |! his |! body |! penetrating |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone |! after |! the |! ready |! and |! the |! snapper |! has |! placed |! his |! hand(s) |! on |! the |! ball. |! This |! is |! a |! dead-ball |! foul |! and |! the |! ball |! will |! not |! be |! permitted |! to |! become |! live. |! (2-8, |! 2-25- 2, |! 2-32-9, |! 7-1-5, |! 7-2-3) 7.1.6 |! SITUATION |! B: Snapper |! A1 |! is |! positioned |! over |! the |! ball |! following |! the |! ready |! signal, |! but |! has |! not |! yet |! placed |! his |! hand(s) |! on |! it. |! Either: |! (a) |! A2; |! or |! (b) |! B1, |! breaks |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! Both |! players |! adjust |! their |! position |! and |! get |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone; |! or |! (c) |! A1 |! has |! a |! hand |! on |! the |! ground |! and |! then |! stands |! erect |! to |! call |! out |! a |! blocking |! assignment. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! No |! infraction |! in |! either |! (a), |! (b) |! or |! (c). |! In |! (c), |! the |! snapper |! is |! not |! restricted |! as |! are |! other |! linemen |! after |! placing |! a |! hand |! on |! or |! near |! the |! ground. |! (7-1-7c) 7.1.6 |! SITUATION |! C: A1 |! takes |! his |! position |! over |! the |! ball |! and |! B1 |! breaks |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone: |! (a) |! after |! A1 |! has |! placed |! his |! hands |! on |! the |! ball |! following |! a |! change |! of |! possession |! with |! A |! having |! a |! new |! series |! and |! following |! the |! referee's |! ready-for- play |! signal; |! (b) |! after |! A1 |! has |! placed |! his |! hands |! on |! the |! ball |! on |! first, |! second, |! third |! or |! fourth |! down |! when |! no |! change |! of |! possession |! has |! occurred |! and |! the |! covering |! official |! on |! the |! previous |! play |! has |! given |! the |! dead |! ball |! signal |! following |! the |! previous |! play; |! or |! (c) |! after |! A1 |! has |! placed |! his |! hands |! on |! the |! ball |! following |! a |! change |! of |! possession |! with |! A |! having |! a |! new |! series, |! but |! the |!

encroachment. |! Repeated |! attempts |! at |! this |! act |! could |! be |! considered |! unsportsmanlike |! conduct |! by |! the |! game |! officials. |! In |! (b), |! there |! is |! no |! foul. 7.1.7 |! SITUATION |! A: A |! is |! on |! its |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! with |! A1 |! directly |! and |! immediately |! behind |! the |! snapper |! in |! a |! position |! to |! receive |! the |! ball. |! As |! the |! count |! is |! started, |! but |! before |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped: (a) |! A1 |! steps |! backward |! from |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! and |! while |! so |! doing |! he |! fakes |! throwing |! a |! forward |! pass. |! B1 |! then |! charges |! across |! the |! neutral |! zone |! and |! contacts |! A2; |! or(b) |! A1 |! quickly |! withdraws |! his |! hands |! from |! under |! the |! snapper |! and |! goes |! in |! motion. |! Reaction |! on |! the |! part |! of |! B2 |! causes |! him |! to |! charge |! across |! the |! neutral |! zone |! and |! contact |! A3; |! or(c) |! A1 |! lifts |! the |! heel |! of |! one |! foot |! as |! a |! signal |! to |! start |! A2 |! in |! motion. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! False |! start |! by |! A1 |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b). |! These |! are |! acts |! interpreted |! to |! cause |! an |! opponent |! to |! encroach |! and, |! therefore, |! are |! infractions. |! It |! is |! the |! intent |! of |! the |! rules |! to |! prohibit |! such |! acts. |! Whether |! or |! not |! the |! action |! by |! A1 |! draws |! B |! into |! the |! neutral |! zone |! should |! not |! be |! the |! determining |! factor |! in |! ruling |! a |! false- start |! foul. |! The |! action |! by |! A1 |! in |! (c) |! is |! legal. |! (7-1-7b) 7.1.7 |! SITUATION |! B: On |! fourth |! and |! four |! from |! A's |! 35-yard |! line, |! K |! comes |! to |! the |! line |! in |! a |! scrimmage |! formation. |! After |! calling |! a |! few |! signals, |! A1 |! says |! "shift." |! All |! 11 |! players |! then |! make |! a |! movement. |! Some |! players |! move |! to |! a |! new |! position |! for |! a |! scrimmage-kick |! formation, |! while |! four |! interior |! linemen |! remain |! in |! place |! and |! move |! from |! a |! hands-on-thighs |! position |! to |! an |! upright |! position |! and |! finally |! to |! a |! three-point |! stance. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! This |! could |! be |! ruled |! a |! false |! start |! if |! the |! covering |! official(s) |! determine |! that |! it |! was |! designed |! to |! cause |! B |! to |! encroach. |! In |! judging |! the |! offensive |! team's |! intent, |! the |! game |! officials |! should |! consider |! whether |! players |! move |! to |! a |! new |! position, |! the |! speed |! and |! abruptness |! of |! movement, |! down |! and |! distance |! and |! if |! any |! player |! pretends |! to |!

have |! the |! ball |! or |! otherwise |! simulate |! action |! at |! the |! snap |! with |! the |! start |! of |! a |! play. |! (7-1-7; |! 7-2-6) 7.1.7 |! SITUATION |! C: On |! third |! and |! 10 |! from |! A's |! 40-yard |! line, |! all |! team |! A |! players |! are |! set. |! While |! quarterback |! A1 |! is |! calling |! signals, |! defensive |! back |! B1, |! starting |! from |! a |! position |! eight |! yards |! behind |! his |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! runs |! toward |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! B1 |! stops |! directly |! in |! front |! of |! tackle |! A4 |! but |! does |! not |! enter |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! In |! response |! to |! B1's |! charge, |! A4 |! (a) |! does |! not |! move, |! or |! (b) |! flinches. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! No |! foul |! in |! (a). |! In |! (b), |! A4 |! is |! guilty |! of |! a |! dead- ball |! foul |! for |! false |! start. |! If |! in |! the |! covering |! official's |! judgment |! the |! action |! by |! B1 |! was |! for |! the |! purpose |! of |! disconcerting |! or |! hindering |! A, |! it |! is |! a |! foul |! for |! a |! disconcerting |! act. |! In |! this |! case, |! the |! covering |! official |! should |! sound |! the |! whistle |! before |! the |! snap. |! (7-1-7; |! 7-1-9) 7.1.7 |! SITUATION |! D: Prior |! to |! the |! snap, |! A |! has |! eight |! players |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage. |! A1, |! who |! is |! on |! the |! end |! of |! the |! line, |! shifts |! and |! becomes |! a |! back. |! A2, |! who |! prior |! to |! A1's |! change |! of |! position |! was |! an |! interior |! lineman, |! is |! now |! on |! the |! end |! of |! the |! line. |! A2 |! rises |! from |! his |! three-point |! stance |! and |! moves |! to |! a |! new |! position |! 5 |! yards |! farther |! out |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! where |! he |! again |! assumes |! a |! three-point |! stance. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! A |! legal |! shift |! by |! A2. |! Restrictions |! that |! apply |! to |! interior |! linemen |! no |! longer |! apply |! to |! A2 |! after |! A1 |! moved |! off |! the |! line |! and |! assumed |! a |! position |! as |! a |! back, |! thus |! making |! A2 |! an |! end. |! (2-39) 7.1.9 |! SITUATION: B1 |! calls |! defensive |! signals |! loudly: |! (a) |! before |! A |! takes |! its |! set |! position; |! of |! (b) |! during |! the |! time |! A1 |! is |! giving |! his |! cadence |! count; |! or |! (c) |! while |! A1 |! is |! using |! audibles. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal |! in |! (a). |! In |! (b) |! and |! (c), |! if |! in |! the

and |! remains |! outside |! the |! 9-yard |! marks |! until |! the |! snap. |! With |! 32 |! seconds |! on |! the |! play |! clock, |! the |! umpire |! places |! the |! ball, |! moves |! to |! position |! and |! the |! ball |! is |! ready |! for |! play. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! this |! is |! an |! illegal |! formation |! and |! if |! the |! penalty |! is |! accepted |! it |! would |! be |! marked |! off |! from |! the |! previous |! spot. |! Depending |! upon |! the |! situation |! (see |! 9-6-4d), |! this |! could |! also |! be |! illegal |! participation. |! After |! the |! ball |! is |! ready |! for |! play, |! each |! player |! of |! A |! who |! participated |! in |! the |! previous |! down |! and |! each |! substitute |! for |! A |! must |! have |! been, |! momentarily, |! between |! the |! 9-yard |! marks, |! before |! the |! snap. 7.2.2 |! SITUATION: Following |! the |! snap |! on |! a |! kick |! try, |! the |! offensive |! linemen |! "step |! down" |! and |! interlock |! feet. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal. |! However, |! prior |! to |! the |! snap |! only |! the |! linemen |! next |! to |! the |! snapper |! are |! permitted |! to |! lock |! legs |! with |! the |! snapper. 7.2.3 |! SITUATION |! A: Following |! the |! huddle, |! after |! A |! comes |! to |! its |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! quarterback |! A1 |! is |! breaking |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! waistline |! of |! the |! snapper, |! and |! slot |! back |! A2 |! has |! a |! part |! of |! his |! body |! breaking |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! waistline |! of |! his |! nearest |! teammate |! who |! is |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! This |! is |! an |! illegal |! formation |! foul |! at |! the |! snap. |! While |! quarterback |! A1 |! may |! be |! breaking |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! waistline |! of |! the |! snapper |! or |! nearest |! teammate |! legally |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! it |! is |! illegal |! for |! any |! other |! back |! to |! break |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! waistline |! of |! his |! nearest |! teammate |! who |! is |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage. |! (2-32-3) 7.2.3 |! SITUATION |! B: At |! the |! snap, |! A1 |! is |! in |! a |! position |! which |! is |! neither |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! nor |! clearly |! in |! the |! backfield. |! A1 |! is |! not |! on |! the |! line |! because |! neither |! his |! head |!

nor |! his |! foot |! is |! breaking |! the |! plane |! through |! the |! waist |! of |! the |! snapper, |! and |! he |! is |! not |! a |! back |! because |! he |! is |! penetrating |! the |! plane |! through |! the |! waist |! of |! his |! nearest |! teammate, |! end |! A2, |! who |! is |! on |! the |! line. |! The |! position |! of |! A1 |! is |! inside |! that |! of |! end |! A2, |! who |! is |! clearly |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage. |! When |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped, |! both |! A1 |! and |! A2 |! go |! downfield |! and |! A1 |! catches |! a |! pass. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! position |! of |! A1 |! is |! illegal |! when |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped. |! A1 |! is |! an |! ineligible |! receiver |! because |! he |! was |! not |! clearly |! a |! back. |! His |! advance |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! is |! illegal |! and |! when |! he |! touches |! the |! pass, |! it |! is |! illegal |! touching. |! This |! is |! a |! multiple |! foul |! and |! B |! has |! a |! choice |! of |! which |! penalty |! to |! accept. |! (7-5-6a, |! 7-5-13) 7.2.5 |! SITUATION |! A: Team |! A |! comes |! to |! its |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! with: |! (a) |! ends |! 80 |! and |! 71, |! tackles |! 70 |! and |! 81, |! guards |! 60 |! and |! 61, |! and |! center |! 50; |! or |! (b) |! ends |! 80 |! and |! 81, |! guards |! 72 |! and |! 75, |! tackles |! 62 |! and |! 63, |! and |! center |! 50 |! and |! one |! halfback |! numbered |! 76. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! formations |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! are |! legal |! because |! there |! are |! five |! players |! numbered |! 50-79 |! on |! the |! offensive |! line. |! In |! (a), |! a |! player |! at |! tackle |! wearing |! 81 |! and |! the |! end |! wearing |! 71 |! are |! both |! ineligible |! receivers; |! 81 |! because |! of |! his |! position |! and |! 71 |! because |! of |! his |! number. |! In |! (b), |! number |! 76, |! a |! halfback, |! is |! not |! an |! eligible |! receiver |! because |! of |! the |! number |! he |! is |! wearing. |! (7-5-6a) 7.2.5 |! SITUATION |! B: Team |! A |! sets |! with |! five |! players |! on |! its |! line |! numbered |! 50 |! through |! 79, |! while |! two |! teammates, |! both |! on |! the |! same |! side, |! are |! numbered |! 89 |! and |! 41. |! Number |! 41 |! is |! on |! the |! end |! and |! 89 |! is |! inside |! and |! next |! to |! him. |! Number |! 41 |! shifts |! to |! the |! backfield |! and |! Number |! 32, |! on |! the |! opposite |! side |! of |! the |! ball, |! shifts |! so |! he |! is |! on |! that |! end |! of |! the |! line. |! A |! touchdown |! pass |! is |! thrown |! to |! Number |! 89. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! touchdown |! counts. |! The |! fact |! that |! A |! lined |! up |! with |! a |! player |! wearing |! an |! eligible |! receiver's |! number |! in |! the |! interior |! line |! does |! not |!

lined |! up |! in |! the |! deep, |! position |! as |! a |! potential |! kicker. |! A25 |! places |! his |! hand |! on |! the |! ball. |! Prior |! to |! the |! snap, |! (a) |! A20 |! shifts |! to |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! on |! the |! right |! of |! A86 |! and |! left |! of |! A11 |! and |! sets |! for |! one |! second |! before |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped; |! or |! (b) |! A11 |! steps |! back |! off |! of |! the |! line |! and |! A20 |! shifts |! to |! replace |! him |! as |! the |! end, |! where |! both |! are |! set |! for |! a |! second |! before |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped. |! Who |! are |! the |! eligible |! receivers |! prior |! to |! the |! ball |! being |! touched |! by |! B? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Once |! A25 |! placed |! his |! hands |! on |! the |! ball, |! all |! players |! in |! between |! the |! ends |! (A34, |! A66, |! A25, |! A64 |! and |! A86) |! become |! ineligible |! and |! remain |! ineligible |! throughout |! the |! down. |! In |! (a), |! once |! A20 |! assumed |! a |! position |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! A20 |! became |! ineligible |! as |! he |! was |! covered |! up |! by |! A11. |! A79 |! is |! ineligible |! by |! number. |! Only |! A21, |! A11, |! A10 |! and |! A5 |! are |! eligible |! on |! the |! play. |! In |! (b), |! because |! A11 |! stepped |! back |! off |! of |! the |! line |! first, |! A20 |! becomes |! eligible |! as |! he |! would |! be |! the |! end. |! A21, |! A20, |! A11, |! A10 |! and |! A5 |! are |! eligible. COMMENT: |! When |! A |! is |! in |! scrimmage-kick |! formation, |! it |! does |! not |! have |! to |! kick |! and |! may |! kick |! when |! it |! is |! not |! in |! this |! formation. |! [2-14-2, |! 2-32-9, |! 2-39, |! 7- 2-5b(2), |! 7-5-6] *7.2.5 |! SITUATION |! F: It |! is |! fourth |! and |! 6 |! for |! A |! from |! its |! own |! 40-yard |! line. |! A |! initially |! sets |! in |! a |! scrimmage-kick |! formation |! with |! Number |! 83 |! as |! an |! interior |! lineman |! and |! four |! other |! linemen |! numbered |! 50-79. |! Prior |! to |! the |! snap, |! B1 |! encroaches. |! The |! penalty |! is |! administered |! leaving |! A |! only |! 1 |! yard |! to |! go |! for |! a |! first |! down. |! A |! now |! lines |! up |! with |! Number |! 83 |! on |! the |! end |! of |! the |! line |! and |! through |! substitution |! has |! five |! interior |! linemen |! numbered |! 50-79. |! Number |! 83 |! goes |! downfield |! and |! catches |! a |! touchdown |! pass. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! A |! legal |! play. |! The |! dead-ball |! encroachment |! foul |! allowed |! A |! to |! cancel |! the |! use |! of |! the |! numbering |! exception |! and |! to |! use |! Number |! 83 |! as |! an |! eligible |! receiver. |! The |! numbering |! exception |! is |! canceled, |! or |! must |! be |! renewed, |! following |! a |! dead- ball |! foul, |! a |! charged |! time-out |! or |! TV/radio |! time-out, |! the |! end |! of |! a |! period |! or |! an |! official's |! time-out.

COMMENT: |! If |! a |! place |! kick |! is |! used |! for |! a |! try, |! it |! is |! a |! scrimmage |! kick |! and |! the |! numbering |! exception |! may |! be |! used. |! (7-2-5b |! EXCEPTIONS) 7.2.6 |! SITUATION |! A: A |! comes |! to |! its |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! with |! the |! quarterback |! A1 |! standing |! behind |! the |! snapper. |! Upon |! signal, |! A2 |! goes |! in |! motion |! and |! then |! A1 |! assumes |! his |! final |! position |! under |! the |! snapper. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! When |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped, |! it |! will |! be |! an |! illegal |! shift |! because |! A2 |! did |! not |! reset |! for |! one |! second |! along |! with |! the |! other |! A |! players |! after |! A1 |! shifted. |! Motion |! cannot |! be |! started |! legally |! until |! all |! 11 |! players |! of |! A |! have |! been |! set |! simultaneously |! for |! at |! least |! one |! second. |! (2-39) 7.2.6 |! SITUATION |! B: Backs |! A1 |! and |! A2 |! simultaneously |! move |! to |! new |! backfield |! positions |! prior |! to |! the |! snap. |! In |! less |! than |! one |! second |! after |! both |! are |! stationary: (a) |! A3 |! goes |! in |! motion |! and |! is |! in |! motion |! at |! the |! snap; |! or(b) |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Illegal |! shift |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b). |! Following |! a |! huddle |! or |! a |! shift, |! all |! 11 |! players |! of |! A |! must |! come |! to |! a |! complete |! stop |! and |! must |! remain |! stationary |! simultaneously |! for |! at |! least |! one |! second |! before |! the |! snap |! or |! before |! a |! player |! goes |! in |! motion. |! (2-39) 7.2.6 |! SITUATION |! C: After |! A |! has |! been |! set |! for |! more |! than |! one |! second, |! back |! A1 |! goes |! in |! motion. |! While |! A1 |! is |! in |! motion, |! back |! A2 |! takes |! one |! step |! forward |! and |! then |! resets. |! A |! is |! still |! in |! motion |! when |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped |! two |! seconds |! after |! A2 |! reset. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Illegal |! shift. |! A2's |! movement |! was |! a |! shift |! and |! the |! failure |! of |! the |! entire |! team |! to |! set |! for |! at |! least |! one |! second |! after |! the |! shift |! and |! before |! the |! snap |! is |! a |! foul |! at |! the |! snap. |! (2-39)

COMMENT: |! In |! all |! cases, |! the |! referee |! should |! inform |! A1 |! immediately |! that |! a |! planned |! loose |! ball |! play |! is |! not |! legal |! and |! thus |! attempt |! to |! prevent |! a |! foul. 7.3.2 |! SITUATION: Quarterback |! A1 |! takes |! the |! snap |! and |! hands |! the |! ball |! forward |! to |! back |! A2. |! The |! handing |! is |! done: |! (a) |! behind; |! or |! (b) |! in; |! or |! (c) |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone. |!

  • |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal |! in |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! but |! a |! foul |! in |! (c). COMMENT: |! The |! position |! of |! the |! ball |! determines |! whether |! it |! is |! behind, |! in |! or |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! however, |! the |! position |! of |! the |! player |! recovering |! the |! ball |! determines |! whether |! or |! not |! it |! is |! forward |! handing. |! (2-19-2, |! 2-19-3) 7.4.3 |! SITUATION: An |! offensive |! and |! defensive |! player |! simultaneously |! gain |! possession |! of |! a |! live |! ball |! which |! is |! a: (a) |! legal |! forward |! pass |! and |! both |! players |! are |! touching |! inbounds; |! or(b) |! scrimmage |! kick |! muffed |! by |! R |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone; |! or(c) |! fumble |! by |! A1 |! on |! a |! running |! play. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! down |! is |! ended |! in |! each |! situation. |! In |! (a), |! complete |! pass |! and |! the |! ball |! belongs |! to |! A |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! completion. |! In |! (b), |! the |! ball |! belongs |! to |! R |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! recovery, |! and |! in |! (c), |! the |! ball |! belongs |! to |! A |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! recovery. |! (6-2-6, |! 7-5-4) 7.5.1 |! SITUATION: Quarterback |! A1 |! runs |! wide |! and |! while |! near |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! decides |! to |! throw |! a |! forward |! pass. |! As |! A1 |! releases |! the |! ball: (a) |! his |! foremost |! foot |! is |! touching |! the |! ground |! in |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! or(b) |! his |! foremost |! foot |! is |! breaking |! the |! plane |! of |! B's |! side |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! it |! is |! a |! legal |! forward |! pass. |! In |! (b), |! it |! is |! an

|! illegal |! forward |! pass |! because |! the |! location |! of |! the |! passer's |! foremost |! foot |! was |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! (7-5-2b) 7.5.2 |! SITUATION |! A: Quarterback |! A1 |! drops |! back |! to |! pass, |! but |! is |! unable |! to |! find |! a |! receiver |! and: (a) |! throws |! the |! ball |! to |! the |! ground; |! or(b) |! throws |! the |! ball |! to |! the |! ground |! in |! an |! area |! occupied |! by |! only |! defensive |! players; |! or(c) |! deliberately |! throws |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! legs |! of |! onrushing |! defensive |! linemen. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! An |! illegal |! forward |! pass |! in |! (a), |! (b) |! and |! (c). |! Penalize |! A |! 5 |! yards |! from |! where |! the |! run |! ended |! and |! count |! the |! down |! in |! each |! situation. |! (7-5-2b, |! c, |! d, |! e) 7.5.2 |! SITUATION |! B: Quarterback |! A1 |! is |! positioned |! directly |! behind |! the |! snapper. |! (a) |! A1 |! muffs |! the |! snap, |! but |! is |! able |! to |! take |! the |! ball |! from |! the |! ground |! and |! spike |! it |! forward; |! or(b) |! A1 |! receives |! the |! snap, |! but |! his |! spike |! attempt |! hits |! snapper |! A2's |! leg |! and |! ricochets |! into |! the |! air. A1 |! catches |! the |! ball |! and |! immediately |! spikes |! it |! forward. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! An |! illegal |! forward |! pass |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b). |! Once |! the |! ball |! touches |! the |! ground, |! a |! player |! or |! a |! spike |! attempt |! is |! unsuccessful, |! it |! may |! not |! be |! grounded |! legally |! thereafter |! using |! this |! exception. |! In |! order |! to |! be |! a |! "direct |! snap" |! and |! therefore |! meet |! the |! allowance |! within |! the |! exception, |! the |! ball |! must |! go |! immediately |! from |! the |! snapper |! to |! the |! person |! in |! position |! to |! take |! the |! hand-to-hand |! snap |! without |! being |! muffed, |! fumbled |! or |! otherwise |! mishandled. 7.5.2 |! SITUATION |! C:

*7.5.2 |! SITUATION |! F:

In |! the |! last |! few |! seconds |! of |! a |! half, |! A1 |! completes |! a |! pass |! to |! A2 |! at |! B's |! 20-yard |! line. |! The |! ball |! is |! properly |! spotted |! and |! the |! referee |! marks |! it |! ready |! for |! play |! and |! signals |! the |! game |! clock |! to |! start. |! In |! the |! rush |! and |! confusion |! to |! stop |! the |! game |! clock, |! A's |! snapper |! and |! quarterback |! A1 |! are |! the |! only |! A |! players |! in |! legal |! position |! when |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped |! and |! legally |! "spiked" |! by |! A1. |! A |! foul |! for |! illegal |! formation |! occurs |! at |! the |! snap. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! "spike" |! is |! legal. |! Since |! the |! spike |! is |! legal, |! the |! only |! applicable |! foul |! is |! for |! illegal |! formation. |! The |! reason |! for |! the |! game |! clock |! stoppage |! was |! the |! incomplete |! forward |! pass; |! therefore, |! the |! game |! clock |! shall |! start |! on |! the |! snap. COMMENT: |! The |! determination |! by |! the |! referee |! as |! to |! whether |! or |! not |! the |! act |! was |! intended |! to |! illegally |! conserve |! time |! must |! be |! applied |! using |! Rule |! 3-4-

  1. |! (7-5-2 |! EXCEPTION) 7.5.2 |! SITUATION |! G: Quarterback |! A1 |! is |! in |! shotgun |! formation |! directly |! behind |! the |! snapper. |! A2 |! is |! legally |! in |! motion |! behind |! but |! parallel |! to |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage. |! At |! the |! snap, |! (a) |! A1 |! receives |! the |! snap |! and |! sensing |! an |! all-out-blitz, |! throws |! the |! ball |! to |! the |! ground; |! or |! (b) |! A2 |! who |! is |! directly |! behind |! the |! snapper |! at |! the |! time |! receives |! the |! snap |! and |! sensing |! a |! loss |! of |! yardage, |! immediately |! throws |! throws |! the |! ball |! to |! the |! ground. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Illegal |! forward |! pass |! in |! (a) |! and |! (b). |! The |! exception |! purposefully |! and |! intentionally |! only |! allows |! for |! a |! player |! to |! throw |! the |! ball |! to |! the |! ground |! to |! conserve |! time, |! not |! to |! conserve |! yardage. 7.5.4 |! SITUATION |! A: Airborne |! A1 |! and |! B1 |! simultaneously |! gain |! possession |! of |! a |! legal |! forward |! pass |! near |! the |! goal |! line |! and |! return |! to |! the |! ground |! where:

(a) |! they |! alight |! in |! the |! field |! of |! play |! inbounds; |! or(b) |! they |! alight |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! with |! the |! ball; |! or(c) |! A1 |! lands |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! and |! B1 |! in |! the |! field |! of |! play |! inbounds;(d) |! B1 |! comes |! down |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! and |! A1 |! lands |! in |! the |! field |! of |! play; |! or(e) |! A1 |! lands |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! and |! B1 |! lands |! out |! of |! bounds. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! the |! ball |! is |! dead |! and |! belongs |! to |! A |! at |! the |! yard |! line |! through |! the |! foremost |! point |! of |! the |! ball |! when |! A1 |! and |! B1 |! contacted |! the |! ground |! inbounds. |! It |! is |! a |! touchdown |! in |! (b). |! In |! (c) |! and |! (d), |! the |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! and |! the |! pass |! is |! complete |! at |! the |! yard |! line |! through |! the |! foremost |! point |! of |! the |! ball |! when |! the |! players |! contacted |! the |! ground |! inbounds. |! If |! the |! ball |! has |! penetrated |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! goal |! line |! in |! either |! (c) |! or |! (d), |! it |! is |! a |! touchdown. |! In |! (e) |! incomplete |! pass. COMMENT: |! In |! order |! for |! there |! to |! be |! a |! simultaneous |! catch, |! opposing |! players |! must |! have |! simultaneous |! joint |! possession, |! and |! both |! must |! be |! in |! contact |! with |! the |! ground |! inbounds. |! The |! players' |! contact |! with |! the |! ground |! does |! not |! have |! to |! be |! exactly |! simultaneous. |! If |! A1 |! and |! B1 |! jointly |! possess |! a |! forward |! pass |! while |! airborne |! and |! both |! land |! inbounds, |! it |! is |! a |! completed |! pass, |! the |! ball |! is |! dead |! at |! that |! point |! and |! belongs |! to |! A. |! If |! there |! is |! simultaneous |! recovery |! of |! a |! fumble, |! the |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! and |! belongs |! to |! the |! team |! which |! last |! had |! possession. |! If |! there |! is |! simultaneous |! recovery |! of |! a |! free |! kick |! or |! scrimmage |! kick, |! the |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! and |! belongs |! to |! the |! receiving |! team. |! (4-2-2c, |! 7-5-4, |! 8-2-1) 7.5.4 |! SITUATION |! B: A |! pass |! from |! A1 |! is |! possessed |! by |! A2 |! while |! he |! is |! in |! the |! air |! above |! B's |! end |! zone. |! A2 |! loses |! control |! when |! he |! is |! contacted |! by |! B1 |! while |! in |! the |! air. |! The |! ball: (a) |! falls |! to |! the |! ground; |! or (b) |! is |! caught |! by |! eligible |! A3 |! in |! B's |! end |! zone; |! or

7.5.4 |! SITUATION |! F:

B1 |! leaps |! in |! the |! air |! over |! his |! 2-yard |! line |! and |! has |! A's |! pass |! in |! his |! grasp. |! He |! returns |! to |! the |! ground |! on |! his |! 1-yard |! line |! and |! his |! momentum |! carries |! him |! back |! into |! his |! end |! zone |! where |! he |! is |! downed. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Since |! B's |! interception |! was |! made |! in |! the |! field |! of |! play |! and |! his |! momentum |! carried |! him |! into |! his |! end |! zone |! where |! he |! is |! downed, |! the |! momentum |! exception |! is |! in |! effect |! and |! the |! spot |! of |! the |! interception, |! B's |! 1-yard |! line, |! is |! the |! spot |! from |! which |! B |! will |! start |! its |! series. 7.5.4 |! SITUATION |! G: A8, |! in |! B's |! end |! zone, |! leaps |! in |! the |! air |! to |! catch |! a |! pass |! and |! is |! contacted |! by |! B |! forcing |! A8 |! to |! come |! down |! inbounds |! on |! B's |! 1-yard |! line |! where |! he |! is |! downed. |!

  • |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Touchdown, |! since |! A8's |! forward |! progress |! was |! stopped |! over |! B's |! end |! zone |! by |! B2's |! contact. |! Even |! though |! the |! catch |! was |! not |! made |! until |! A8 |! came |! down |! inbounds, |! his |! forward |! progress |! was |! stopped |! by |! B2's |! contact |! resulting |! in |! A |! possessing |! the |! live |! ball |! in |! its |! opponent's |! end |! zone, |! hence, |! a |! touchdown. 7.5.4 |! SITUATION |! H: A |! pass |! from |! A1 |! is |! thrown |! near |! the |! intersection |! of |! the |! sideline |! and |! the |! goal |! line. |! A2, |! running |! toward |! the |! goal |! line, |! leaps |! and |! possesses |! the |! pass |! at |! the |! 3-yard |! line |! and |! is |! forcibly: (a) |! contacted |! from |! the |! front |! by |! B1 |! (not |! carried) |! so |! that |! A2 |! contacts |! the |! ground |! out |! of |! bounds |! opposite |! B's |! 4-yard |! line; |! or (b) |! contacted |! from |! the |! side |! by |! B1 |! and |! A2 |! first |! contacts |! the |! ground |! out |! of |! bounds |! opposite |! the |! 3-yard |! line; |! or

(c) |! grasped |! from |! behind |! and |! carried |! by |! B1 |! so |! that |! first |! contact |! with |! the |! ground |! by |! A2 |! is |! out |! of |! bounds |! 1 |! yard |! beyond |! the |! goal |! line; |! or (d) |! tackled |! from |! behind |! by |! B1 |! so |! that |! A2 |! first |! contacts |! the |! ground |! in |! the |! end |! zone. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! it |! is |! an |! incomplete |! pass. |! In |! (c) |! and |! (d), |! it |! is |! a |! touchdown. |! (2-4-1, |! 2-15-1, |! 2-15-2, |! 8-2-1) 7.5.4 |! SITUATION |! I: Airborne |! A1 |! jumps |! high |! in |! an |! attempt |! to |! catch |! a |! legal |! forward |! pass. |! While |! still |! in |! the |! air, |! he |! is |! tackled |! by |! B1 |! and |! held |! momentarily |! without |! touching |! the |! ground |! before |! he |! is |! carried |! (a) |! backward |! toward |! A's |! goal |! line, |! or |! (b) |! forward |! toward |! B's |! goal |! line. |! He |! then |! lands |! out |! of |! bounds |! with |! the |! ball. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! completed |! pass |! as |! forward |! progress |! was |! stopped. |! The |! ball |! is |! dead |! at |! the |! yard |! line |! where |! the |! forward |! progress |! of |! the |! receiver |! was |! stopped. |! (2-4-1, |! 4-2-2a) 7.5.6 |! SITUATION: Quarterback |! A1 |! drops |! back |! and |! throws |! a |! forward |! pass |! toward |! the |! sideline |! to |! A2 |! who |! is |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! A2 |! then |! throws |! a |! forward |! pass |! to |! A3 |! 15 |! yards |! downfield. (a) |! B1 |! blocks |! A2 |! behind |! the |! line |! prior |! to |! A2 |! touching |! the |! ball; |! or(b) |! B1 |! tackles |! A2 |! prior |! to |! A2 |! touching |! the |! pass; |! or(c) |! B1 |! pushes |! A3 |! prior |! to |! A3 |! touching |! the |! pass, |! and |! B1 |! intercepts. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal |! block |! in |! (a) |! since |! pass |! interference |! restrictions |! for |! B |! do |! not |! apply |! to |! a |! forward |! pass |! that |! does |! not |! cross |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! In |! (b), |! it |! is |! a |! holding |! foul |! by |! B1. |! Legal |! contact |! in |! (c) |! since |! there |! are |! no |! pass |! interference |! restrictions |! on |! an |! illegal |! forward |! pass. |! It |! should |! be |! noted |! that |! A2 |! has |! also |! committed |! a |! foul |! for |! an |! illegal |! forward |! pass. 7.5.7 |! SITUATION |! A: