Docsity
Docsity

Prepare for your exams
Prepare for your exams

Study with the several resources on Docsity


Earn points to download
Earn points to download

Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan


Guidelines and tips
Guidelines and tips

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 3 (Periods, Time Factor, and Substitutions), Exams of Sport Studies

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 3 (Periods, Time Factor, and Substitutions) exam with verified answers

Typology: Exams

2024/2025

Available from 07/11/2025

smart-scores
smart-scores 🇺🇸

5

(2)

7.4K documents

1 / 31

Toggle sidebar

This page cannot be seen from the preview

Don't miss anything!

bg1
NFHS |! Football |! Case |! Plays |! - |! Rule |! 3 |! (Periods, |!
Time |! Factor, |! and |! Substitutions) |! exam |! with |!
verified |! answers
3.1.1 |! SITUATION |! A:
The |! home |! management |! notifies |! the |! game |! officials |! and |! the |! visiting-team |!
coach |! 30 |! minutes |! prior |! to |! the |! scheduled |! kickoff |! that |! the |! halftime |!
intermission |! will |! be |! extended |! for |! homecoming |! activities. |! - |! Correct |! answer |!
RULING: |! The |! maximum |! length |! of |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! is |! 20 |!
minutes. |! Any |! greater |! extension |! is |! not |! permitted |! either |! by |! mutual |!
agreement |! or |! prior |! notification.
COMMENT: |! By |! agreement |! of |! the |! opposing |! coaches, |! the |! halftime |!
intermission |! may |! be |! reduced |! to |! a |! minimum |! of |! 10 |! minutes |! unless |! there |! has |!
been |! a |! delay |! of |! at |! least |! 30 |! minutes |! due |! to |! weather |! in |! the |! last |! three |!
minutes |! of |! the |! second |! period |! (3-1-6, |! 3-1-6c, |! 3-1-6c |! EXCEPTION)
*3.1.1 |! SITUATION |! B:
Prior |! to |! the |! game, |! the |! participating |! schools |! have |! agreed |! to |! a |! 20-minute |!
halftime |! intermission: |! (a) |! After |! 20 |! minutes |! have |! been |! placed |! on |! the |! game |!
clock, |! planned |! band |! performances |! are |! canceled |! because |! of |! cold |! weather. |!
Both |! teams |! arrive |! on |! the |! field |! with |! six |! minutes |! remaining |! on |! the |! game |!
clock. |! Both |! coaches |! tell |! the |! game |! officials |! they |! have |! agreed |! to |! shorten |! the |!
halftime |! intermission |! and |! want |! the |! game |! to |! start |! as |! soon |! as |! they |! have |!
both |! had |! three |! minutes |! to |! warm |! up; |! or |! (b) |! As |! the |! teams |! leave |! the |! field, |!
the |! timer |! places |! 20 |! minutes |! on |! the |! game |! clock |! and |! upon |! reaching |! 0:00, |!
places |! three |! additional |! minutes |! on |! the |! game |! clock. |! - |! Correct |! answer |!
RULING: |! In |! (a), |! mutual |! agreement |! of |! coaches |! to |! shorten |! the |! halftime |!
pf3
pf4
pf5
pf8
pf9
pfa
pfd
pfe
pff
pf12
pf13
pf14
pf15
pf16
pf17
pf18
pf19
pf1a
pf1b
pf1c
pf1d
pf1e
pf1f

Partial preview of the text

Download NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 3 (Periods, Time Factor, and Substitutions) and more Exams Sport Studies in PDF only on Docsity!

NFHS |! Football |! Case |! Plays |! - |! Rule |! 3 |! (Periods, |!

Time |! Factor, |! and |! Substitutions) |! exam |! with |!

verified |! answers

3.1.1 |! SITUATION |! A:

The |! home |! management |! notifies |! the |! game |! officials |! and |! the |! visiting-team |! coach |! 30 |! minutes |! prior |! to |! the |! scheduled |! kickoff |! that |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! will |! be |! extended |! for |! homecoming |! activities. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! maximum |! length |! of |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! is |! 20 |! minutes. |! Any |! greater |! extension |! is |! not |! permitted |! either |! by |! mutual |! agreement |! or |! prior |! notification. COMMENT: |! By |! agreement |! of |! the |! opposing |! coaches, |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! may |! be |! reduced |! to |! a |! minimum |! of |! 10 |! minutes |! unless |! there |! has |! been |! a |! delay |! of |! at |! least |! 30 |! minutes |! due |! to |! weather |! in |! the |! last |! three |! minutes |! of |! the |! second |! period |! (3-1-6, |! 3-1-6c, |! 3-1-6c |! EXCEPTION) *3.1.1 |! SITUATION |! B: Prior |! to |! the |! game, |! the |! participating |! schools |! have |! agreed |! to |! a |! 20-minute |! halftime |! intermission: |! (a) |! After |! 20 |! minutes |! have |! been |! placed |! on |! the |! game |! clock, |! planned |! band |! performances |! are |! canceled |! because |! of |! cold |! weather. |! Both |! teams |! arrive |! on |! the |! field |! with |! six |! minutes |! remaining |! on |! the |! game |! clock. |! Both |! coaches |! tell |! the |! game |! officials |! they |! have |! agreed |! to |! shorten |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! and |! want |! the |! game |! to |! start |! as |! soon |! as |! they |! have |! both |! had |! three |! minutes |! to |! warm |! up; |! or |! (b) |! As |! the |! teams |! leave |! the |! field, |! the |! timer |! places |! 20 |! minutes |! on |! the |! game |! clock |! and |! upon |! reaching |! 0:00, |! places |! three |! additional |! minutes |! on |! the |! game |! clock. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! mutual |! agreement |! of |! coaches |! to |! shorten |! the |! halftime |!

intermission |! is |! permitted. |! They |! may |! not, |! however, |! shorten |! it |! to |! less |! than |! 10 |! minutes |! unless |! there |! has |! been |! a |! delay |! of |! at |! least |! 30 |! minutes |! due |! to |! weather |! in |! the |! last |! three |! minutes |! of |! the |! second |! period. |! Regardless |! of |! what |! it |! is |! shortened |! to, |! the |! three-minute |! warm-up |! time |! always |! must |! be |! added |! to |! whatever |! is |! agreed |! to |! for |! the |! halftime |! intermission. |! In |! (b), |! the |! time |! has |! been |! posted |! properly. |! (3-1-6, |! 3-1-6c, |! 3-1-6c |! EXCEPTION, |! 3-1-7) 3.1.1 |! SITUATION |! C: Upon |! returning |! to |! the |! field |! near |! the |! end |! of |! the |! normal |! 15-minute |! halftime |! intermission, |! the |! game |! officials |! notice |! one |! team |! standing |! quietly |! in |! front |! of |! its |! bench |! during |! the |! entire |! three |! minutes |! posted |! for |! warm-up. |! The |! game |! officials: |! (a) |! start |! the |! game |! as |! soon |! as |! the |! three |! minutes |! have |! elapsed, |! or |! (b) |! inform |! the |! coach |! of |! that |! team |! that |! the |! team |! must |! actively |! warm |! up |! by |! running |! or |! doing |! some |! kind |! of |! exercises. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! game |! officials |! are |! correct |! in |! (a), |! but |! in |! error |! in |! (b). |! The |! rules |! book |! contains |! no |! definition |! of |! what |! constitutes |! a |! warm-up. |! It |! simply |! requires |! that |! an |! opportunity |! to |! warm |! up |! be |! made |! available. |! (3-1-7) *3.1.1 |! SITUATION |! D: Both |! teams |! are |! informed |! of |! a |! 15-minute |! halftime |! intermission. |! The |! game |! officials |! remind |! the |! teams |! that |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! period |! is |! nearing |! an |! end, |! and |! that |! the |! three-minute |! warm-up |! period |! will |! begin |! immediately. |! Team |! A |! returns |! to |! the |! field |! prior |! to |! the |! end |! of |! the |! halftime |! intermission, |! however |! Team |! B |! is |! not |! on |! the |! field |! when |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! ends |! and |! the |! timer |! immediately |! and |! appropriately |! starts |! the |! three-minute |! warm-up |! period. |! Team |! B |! does |! not |! arrive |! on |! the |! field |! until |! the |! three- minute |! warm-up |! period |! has |! expired. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! head |! coach |! of |! Team |! B |! is |! charged |! with |! unsportsmanlike |! conduct |! and |! B |! is |! penalized |! 15 |! yards |! to |! start |! the |! second |! half. |! Though |! Team |! B |! has |! violated |! the |! rule |! by |! not |! being |! on |! the |! field |! at |! the |! end |! of |! the |! halftime |! intermission, |!

*3.3.3 |! SITUATION |! A:

With |! the |! score |! B-7 |! and |! A-6, |! it |! is |! second |! and |! goal |! from |! B's |! 9-yard |! line. |! The |! game |! clock |! is |! stopped |! due |! to |! an |! incomplete |! pass |! with |! four |! seconds |! remaining |! in |! the |! game. |! A1's |! pass |! into |! the |! end |! zone |! is |! intercepted |! by |! B1 |! who |! runs |! to |! his |! 30-yard |! line |! where |! he |! is |! downed. |! Following |! the |! interception |! and |! during |! the |! run |! by |! B1, |! there |! is |! clipping |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! by |! B2. |! Time |! expires |! during |! the |! run. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! If |! the |! penalty |! for |! the |! foul |! by |! B2 |! is |! declined, |! the |! period |! is |! over. |! If |! the |! penalty |! is |! accepted, |! it |! results |! in |! a |! safety |! (two |! points) |! for |! A; |! however, |! the |! period |! is |! not |! extended. |! If |! this |! occurs |! at |! the |! end |! of |! period |! one |! or |! three, |! the |! teams |! will |! change |! ends |! of |! the |! field |! and |! B |! will |! kick |! from |! B's |! 20-yard |! line. |! [3-3- 4b(5)] *3.3.3 |! SITUATION |! B: Near |! the |! end |! of |! the |! third |! period, |! it |! is |! third |! and |! 4 |! for |! A |! from |! B's |! 48-yard |! line. |! A1 |! advances |! to |! B's |! 45 |! and |! during |! the |! run |! there |! is |! holding |! by |! B1. |! The |! penalty |! is |! accepted. |! At |! the |! end |! of |! the |! down |! there |! are |! three |! seconds |! remaining |! in |! the |! period. |! Because |! the |! penalty |! was |! the |! only |! reason |! for |! the |! game |! clock |! to |! be |! stopped, |! it |! is |! started |! with |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal |! and |! the |! period |! ends |! before |! A |! snaps |! the |! ball. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! A |! is |! not |! entitled |! to |! an |! untimed |! down |! as |! time |! did |! not |! expire |! during |! the |! down. 3.3.3 |! SITUATION |! C: During |! a |! down |! when |! time |! expires, |! A1 |! gains |! 10 |! yards |! and |! fumbles. |! The |! covering |! official |! inadvertently |! sounds |! his |! whistle |! while |! the |! ball |! is |! loose. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! period |! shall |! be |! extended |! for |! an |! untimed |! down |! and |! A |! may |! put |! the |! ball |! in |! play |! where |! it |! lost |! possession |! or |! it |! may |! choose |! to |! replay |! the |! down |! from |! the |! previous |! spot. |! (3-3-3c)

*3.3.3 |! SITUATION |! D:

With |! the |! ball |! at |! B's |! 1-yard |! line |! and |! 12 |! seconds |! remaining |! in |! the |! game, |! A1 |! advances |! to |! the |! ½-yard |! line. |! After |! the |! ball |! is |! dead, |! B1 |! fouls. |! The |! game |! clock |! is |! stopped |! with |! five |! seconds |! remaining |! in |! the |! game. |! A |! has |! the |! option |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap, |! but |! chooses |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal. |! The |! game |! clock |! is |! restarted |! when |! the |! ball |! is |! marked |! ready |! for |! play. |! Before |! A |! can |! snap |! the |! ball, |! time |! expires. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! game |! is |! ended. |! There |! is |! no |! extension |! of |! the |! period |! for |! an |! untimed |! down, |! unless |! there |! is |! acceptance |! of |! the |! penalty |! for |! a |! foul |! that |! occurs |! during |! a |! down |! in |! which |! time |! expires. |! B1's |! foul |! did |! not |! occur |! during |! the |! down. |! However, |! if |! the |! referee |! judges |! B1 |! committed |! the |! foul |! to |! consume |! time, |! he |! shall |! delay |! starting |! the |! clock |! until |! the |! snap. COMMENT: |! When |! either |! team |! attempts |! to |! conserve |! or |! consume |! time |! illegally, |! the |! referee |! shall |! invoke |! Rule |! 3-4-6 |! and |! start |! or |! delay |! the |! start |! of |! the |! game |! or |! play |! clocks |! as |! authorized. |! (3-4-6, |! 3-4-7, |! 3-6-2f, |! 9-10-2) 3.3.3 |! SITUATION |! E: A1 |! breaks |! free |! on |! B's |! 20-yard |! line |! and |! is |! near |! the |! goal |! line |! on |! a |! run |! which |! will |! score |! the |! go-ahead |! touchdown. |! Just |! before |! entering |! the |! end |! zone, |! A1 |! turns |! and |! taunts |! B1. |! Time |! in |! the |! fourth |! period |! expires |! during |! the |! run. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! touchdown |! is |! scored |! and |! the |! unsportsmanlike |! foul |! by |! A1 |! cannot |! be |! penalized. |! While |! such |! situations |! do |! not |! occur |! frequently, |! it |! must |! be |! recognized |! that |! at |! some |! point |! penalty |! enforcement |! is |! ended. |! If |! the |! try |! is |! required |! for |! playoff |! qualification, |! the |! penalty |! is |! enforced |! on |! the |! try. |! (10-4-5a) 3.3.3 |! SITUATION |! F: With |! the |! score |! A-14, |! B-23, |! A |! scores |! a |! touchdown:

the |! option |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap. |! The |! referee |! starts |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! ready |! following |! penalty |! enforcement |! and |! time |! expires |! before |! A |! can |! snap |! the |! ball. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! If |! B |! accepted |! the |! penalty |! for |! A's |! foul |! and |! declines |! the |! option |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap, |! the |! game |! is |! over. |! There |! is |! no |! untimed |! down |! as |! the |! game |! clock |! did |! not |! expire |! during |! the |! down |! in |! which |! A1 |! committed |! the |! foul. |! (3-4-6, |! 3-4-7) 3.3.4 |! SITUATION |! C: On |! a |! down |! in |! which |! time |! expires |! for |! the |! period, |! Team |! A |! throws |! a |! pass |! which |! is |! intercepted |! by |! B1. |! B1 |! advances |! to |! the |! 3-yard |! line |! where |! he: |! (a) |! throws |! an |! incomplete |! pass; |! (b) |! throws |! a |! pass |! to |! B2 |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! for |! an |! apparent |! touchdown; |! or |! (c) |! hands |! the |! ball |! forward |! to |! B2 |! who |! runs |! for |! an |! apparent |! touchdown. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! B |! has |! thrown |! an |! illegal |! forward |! pass. |! In |! (c), |! B |! is |! guilty |! of |! illegal |! handing |! the |! ball |! forward. |! In |! (a), |! A |! will |! accept |! the |! penalty. |! In |! (b) |! and |! (c), |! A |! will |! accept |! the |! penalty |! to |! negate |! the |! score. |! If |! this |! occurs |! at |! the |! end |! of |! the |! first |! or |! third |! period, |! B |! will |! have |! the |! ball |! first |! and |! 10 |! to |! start |! the |! subsequent |! period |! following |! enforcement |! of |! the |! penalty. |! If |! this |! occurs |! at |! the |! end |! of |! the |! half, |! the |! half |! is |! over. |! In |! (a), |! (b) |! and |! (c), |! the |! period |! will |! not |! be |! extended |! as |! Team |! B |! has |! committed |! a |! foul |! for |! which |! the |! loss-of-down |! aspect |! does |! not |! apply |! to |! the |! penalty |! when |! enforced. |! (5-2-2) 3.3.4 |! SITUATION |! D: In |! the |! middle |! of |! a |! period, |! Team |! A |! throws |! a |! pass |! which |! is |! intercepted |! by |! B1. |! B1 |! advances |! to |! the |! 8-yard |! line |! where |! he: |! (a) |! throws |! an |! incomplete |! pass; |! (b) |! throws |! a |! pass |! to |! B2 |! in |! the |! end |! zone |! for |! an |! apparent |! touchdown; |! or |! (c) |! hands |! the |! ball |! forward |! to |! B2 |! who |! runs |! for |! apparent |! touchdown. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! (b) |! and |! (c), |! the |! accepted |! foul |! will |! result |! in |! B |! having |! the |! ball, |! first |! and |! 10 |! after |! enforcement |! of |! the |! distance |! penalty, |! as |! the |! loss-of-down |! aspect |! of |! the |! penalty |! would |! not |! apply. |! (5-2-2)

*3.3.5 |! SITUATION |! A:

A |! trails |! by |! three |! points |! in |! the |! fourth |! period |! with |! the |! ball |! on |! B's |! 20, |! fourth |! and |! 10 |! and |! two |! seconds |! on |! the |! game |! clock. |! A1 |! throws |! an |! incomplete |! pass |! into |! B's |! end |! zone |! with |! time |! expired. |! The |! referee |! quickly |! glances |! to |! each |! sideline |! and |! then |! begins |! to |! leave |! the |! field. |! After |! the |! referee |! crosses |! the |! sideline, |! the |! referee |! hears |! the |! line |! judge |! blowing |! his |! whistle. |! The |! line |! judge |! explains |! that |! B1 |! committed |! pass |! interference |! during |! the |! down |! in |! which |! time |! expired. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! game |! is |! not |! officially |! over |! even |! though |! the |! referee |! left |! the |! field. |! Since |! a |! foul |! had |! been |! called, |! the |! referee |! will |! give |! A |! a |! chance |! to |! accept |! the |! penalty |! and |! extend |! the |! period |! with |! an |! untimed |! down |! from |! B's |! 10-yard |! line. COMMENT: |! The |! game |! is |! officially |! over |! when |! the |! referee |! holds |! the |! ball |! overhead |! and |! leaves |! the |! field. |! Before |! doing |! this |! however, |! the |! referee |! should |! pause |! briefly |! and |! glance |! to |! both |! sidelines |! and |! make |! sure |! there |! are |! no |! fouls, |! no |! obvious |! timing |! error, |! no |! request |! for |! a |! coach-referee |! conference, |! etc. 3.3.5 |! SITUATION |! B: Time |! expires |! at |! the |! end |! of |! the |! second |! period |! during |! a |! scrimmage |! kick. |! After |! the |! down, |! K1 |! piles |! on |! and |! R1 |! strikes |! K2. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! penalties |! for |! these |! dead-ball |! fouls |! cancel. |! R1 |! will |! be |! disqualified |! for |! fighting. |! (9-4-1; |! 10-2-5b, |! c; |! 10-4-5b) *3.4.2 |! SITUATION |! A: Near |! the |! end |! of |! the |! second |! period, |! there |! is |! a |! false |! start |! by |! A1 |! clearly |! for |! the |! purpose |! of |! stopping |! the |! game |! clock: |! (a) |! in |! the |! first |! or |! third |! periods |! or |! with |! two |! minutes |! or |! more |! remaining |! in |! the |! second |! or |! fourth |! periods; |! or |! (b) |! with |! less |! than |! two |! minutes |! remaining |! in |! the |! second |! or |! fourth |! periods. |!

Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! After |! enforcement, |! the |! game |! clock |! starts |! on |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal |! unless |! the |! offended |! team |! chooses |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap |! inside |! the |! last |! two |! minutes |! of |! either |! half. |! [3-4- 2b(3)] *3.4.3 |! SITUATION |! A: During |! a |! scrimmage |! kick: |! (a) |! R1 |! signals |! for |! and |! makes |! a |! fair |! catch; |! or |! (b) |! R2 |! is |! contacted |! by |! K1 |! before |! he |! can |! attempt |! to |! catch |! the |! kick. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! the |! game |! clock |! was |! stopped |! because |! of |! the |! fair |! catch. |! It |! will |! start |! when |! the |! ball |! is |! snapped, |! or |! if |! put |! in |! play |! by |! a |! free |! kick, |! when |! the |! ball |! is |! touched |! other |! than |! first |! touching |! by |! K. |! In |! (b), |! the |! action |! which |! caused |! the |! game |! clock |! to |! be |! stopped |! was |! the |! foul |! by |! K1. |! When |! there |! is |! kick-catching |! interference, |! the |! offended |! team |! has |! a |! number |! of |! choices. |! If |! an |! awarded |! fair |! catch |! is |! accepted, |! the |! game |! clock |! will |! start |! as |! in |! (a). |! (3-4-2b) *3.4.3 |! SITUATION |! B: There |! are |! 40 |! seconds |! to |! go |! in |! the |! first |! period |! when |! A |! is |! faced |! with |! a |! punting |! situation |! against |! a |! strong |! wind |! while |! deep |! in |! its |! own |! territory. |! After |! running |! 23 |! seconds |! off |! the |! game |! clock, |! A |! is |! called |! for |! a |! false |! start. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! If |! B |! accepts, |! A |! will |! be |! penalized |! 5 |! yards |! and |! the |! referee |! has |! the |! discretion |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap |! if |! it |! is |! judged |! that |! A |! was |! consuming |! time |! illegally. |! (3-4-6) *3.4.3 |! SITUATION |! C: Receiver |! A1 |! controls |! a |! pass |! while |! airborne |! near |! A's |! sideline. |! B1 |! contacts |! A1 |! (but |! does |! not |! carry |! him) |! who |! then |! lands |! out |! of |! bounds |! in |! possession |! of |! the |! ball. |! B1 |! does |! not |! drive |! the |! receiver |! backward |! from |! his |! forward |! progress. |! The |! covering |! official |! rules |! an |! incomplete |! pass. |! - |! Correct |! answer |!

✔RULING: |! The |! game |! clock |! is |! stopped |! because |! of |! the |! receiver |! being |! out |! of |! bounds; |! therefore, |! the |! pass |! is |! incomplete. |! The |! game |! clock |! will |! start |! with |! the |! snap. *3.4.3 |! SITUATION |! D: With |! third |! and |! 10: |! (a) |! A1 |! fumbles |! the |! ball |! and |! B |! recovers, |! or |! (b) |! A1's |! pass |! is |! intercepted |! by |! B. |! When |! will |! the |! game |! clock |! be |! restarted? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Since |! a |! change |! of |! possession |! has |! occurred |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! and |! B |! is |! awarded |! a |! new |! series |! of |! downs, |! the |! game |! clock |! will |! start |! on |! the |! snap. *3.4.3 |! SITUATION |! E: On |! fourth |! down |! (a) |! K1's |! punt |! is |! blocked |! by |! R1 |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone |! where |! K2 |! recovers |! and |! advances |! beyond |! the |! line |! to |! gain, |! or |! (b) |! is |! stopped |! behind |! the |! line |! to |! gain. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! the |! game |! clock |! will |! start |! on |! the |! snap |! because |! a |! new |! series |! has |! been |! awarded |! following |! a |! legal |! kick. *3.4.3 |! SITUATION |! F: K11 |! punts |! on |! fourth |! and |! 10. |! R1 |! catches |! the |! kick |! after |! giving |! a |! legal |! fair |! catch |! signal. |! Prior |! to |! the |! snap, |! K2 |! was |! illegally |! in |! motion. |! R |! accepts |! the |! penalty |! for |! illegal |! motion. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Regardless |! of |! where |! R |! chooses |! enforcement, |! after |! enforcement |! the |! game |! clock |! shall |! start |! on |! the |! snap |! as |! both |! the |! down |! ending |! and |! game |! clock |! stopping |! was |! due |! to |! the |! fair |! catch. *3.4.3 |! SITUATION |! G:

With |! time |! expiring |! inside |! the |! last |! two |! minutes |! in |! the |! second |! or |! fourth |! period |! and |! A |! behind |! in |! the |! score, |! A1 |! intentionally |! throws |! the |! ball |! forward |! to |! the |! ground |! in |! order |! to |! stop |! the |! game |! clock. |! A1's |! action |! took |! place: |! (a) |! immediately |! after |! receiving |! the |! snap |! while |! A1 |! was |! lined |! up |! 3 |! yards |! deep; |! or |! (b) |! immediately |! after |! receiving |! the |! snap; |! or |! (c) |! after |! A1 |! delayed |! and |! took |! more |! than |! one |! step |! after |! receiving |! the |! snap. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! the |! grounding |! is |! legal |! and |! the |! game |! clock |! remains |! stopped |! until |! the |! subsequent |! snap. |! Illegal |! forward |! pass |! in |! (c), |! and |! the |! game |! clock |! shall |! be |! started |! on |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal |! unless |! Team |! B |! chooses |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap. |! (7-5-2d |! EXCEPTION) *3.4.7 |! SITUATION |! B: With |! less |! than |! a |! minute |! remaining |! in |! the |! game, |! the |! score |! is |! 21-20 |! in |! favor |! of |! B. |! The |! game |! clock |! is |! running |! and |! the |! ball |! is |! on |! B's |! 10-yard |! line. |! An |! option |! play |! on |! third |! down |! gains |! 5 |! yards, |! but |! is |! short |! of |! a |! first |! down. |! Following |! the |! tackle: |! (a) |! B |! players |! are |! slow |! unpiling |! and |! a |! penalty |! marker |! is |! dropped; |! or |! (b) |! the |! tackler |! B1 |! holds |! A1 |! down |! for |! a |! few |! moments, |! but |! the |! covering |! official |! does |! not |! judge |! the |! action |! to |! be |! illegal. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! the |! delay |! penalty |! is |! a |! situation |! which |! automatically |! dictates |! the |! game |! clock |! will |! not |! be |! started |! until |! the |! snap. |! In |! (b), |! even |! though |! B1 |! held |! A1 |! down |! momentarily, |! the |! game |! clock |! will |! continue |! to |! run |! because |! no |! foul |! was |! called. COMMENT: |! In |! some |! situations |! there |! is |! a |! delay |! in |! unpiling |! and |! no |! individual |! player |! or |! team |! is |! to |! blame. |! In |! such |! situations |! the |! referee |! is |! authorized |! to |! stop |! the |! game |! clock |! momentarily |! so |! no |! more |! clock |! time |! than |! normal |! is |! used |! in |! getting |! the |! ball |! ready |! for |! play. |! (3-4-3h) *3.4.7 |! SITUATION |! C: With |! less |! than |! a |! minute |! remaining |! in |! the |! game, |! Team |! B |! trails |! 21-20. |! B1 |! commits |! a |! holding |! foul |! during |! the |! down. |! Following |! the |! play, |! A2 |! commits |!

an |! unsportsmanlike |! conduct |! foul. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! fouls |! are |! administered |! separately |! and |! in |! order |! of |! occurrence. |! In |! addition, |! Team |! A |! is |! given |! the |! choice |! of |! starting |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap. |! If |! Team |! A |! declines |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap, |! Team |! B |! is |! then |! given |! the |! option |! of |! starting |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap. |! With |! Team |! B |! trailing, |! Team |! B |! will |! likely |! choose |! to |! start |! the |! game |! clock |! on |! the |! snap. |! (10-1-3) *3.4.8 |! SITUATION: During |! the |! second |! down |! of |! a |! series, |! the |! game |! clock |! goes |! directly |! from |! 1:45 |! to |! :45 |! and |! is |! not |! detected. |! Following |! third |! down, |! time |! expires |! for |! either |! the |! first |! or |! second |! period: |! (a) |! before, |! or |! (b) |! after |! the |! referee |! has |! indicated |! the |! period |! has |! officially |! ended, |! the |! error |! is |! discovered. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! the |! timing |! error |! is |! correctable |! because |! it |! was |! discovered |! prior |! to |! the |! second |! live |! ball |! and |! before |! the |! period |! officially |! had |! ended. |! However, |! in |! (b), |! the |! timing |! error |! cannot |! be |! corrected |! whether |! it |! is |! the |! first |! or |! second |! period. |! (3-3-5) 3.5.1 |! SITUATION |! A: Team |! A |! and |! Team |! B |! are |! tied |! at |! the |! conclusion |! of |! the |! fourth |! period |! and |! the |! state |! association |! has |! adopted |! the |! procedure |! for |! resolving |! tied |! games |! as |! listed |! in |! the |! NFHS |! Football |! Rules |! Book. |! Team |! A |! has |! utilized |! one |! time-out |! in |! the |! second |! half |! and |! Team |! B |! has |! used |! three. |! The |! procedures |! for |! resolving |! tied |! games |! grants |! one |! time-out |! to |! each |! team |! in |! each |! overtime |! period. |! The |! coach |! of |! Team |! A |! asks |! the |! referee |! if |! his |! team |! will |! now |! have |! three |! time-outs |! in |! overtime |! (the |! two |! unused |! plus |! the |! one |! for |! the |! first |! overtime). |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! team |! has |! only |! one |! time-out |! per |! period, |! and |! that |! the |! unused |! second |! half |! time-outs |! do |! not |! carry |! over |! to |! overtime. |! Both |! teams |! will |! have |! one |! time-out |! in |! each |! overtime |! period. 3.5.1 |! SITUATION |! B:

and |! (b), |! upon |! visual |! contact, |! the |! time-out |! is |! granted. |! In |! (c), |! (d) |! and |! (e), |! the |! time-out |! is |! granted |! only |! if |! the |! coach |! is |! the |! head |! coach's |! designee. NOTE: |! The |! designee |! shall |! remain |! in |! place |! for |! the |! entire |! game |! except |! in |! case |! of |! emergency. 3.5.4 |! SITUATION: Near |! the |! end |! of |! the |! second |! period, |! A |! requests |! and |! is |! granted |! a |! charged |! time-out. |! After |! both |! teams |! are |! ready |! to |! play, |! A |! comes |! to |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! in |! an |! unusual |! formation. |! The |! captain |! of |! B |! immediately |! requests |! a |! time-out |! which |! is |! granted. |! At |! the |! end |! of |! this |! time-out |! period, |! when |! A |! comes |! to |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! again, |! A1 |! notices |! B |! has |! adjusted |! its |! defense. |! A1 |! then |! requests |! a |! second |! charged |! time-out |! during |! the |! same |! dead- ball |! period. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! If |! A |! has |! time-outs |! remaining, |! the |! referee |! will |! grant |! the |! request |! for |! the |! charged |! time-out. |! Successive |! time- outs |! by |! the |! same |! team, |! or |! by |! one |! team |! followed |! by |! the |! other |! team, |! are |! permissible. 3.5.8 |! SITUATION |! A: During |! a |! charged |! time-out, |! an |! official's |! time-out |! for |! heat/humidity, |! a |! TV/radio |! time-out, |! or |! the |! intermission |! between |! the |! first |! and |! second |! or |! the |! third |! and |! fourth |! periods, |! or |! following |! a |! try: (a) |! team |! members |! of |! A |! confer |! with |! their |! head |! coach |! in |! front |! of |! the |! team |! box |! near |! the |! sideline; |! or(b) |! the |! coach |! of |! B |! goes |! to |! the |! huddle |! of |! B |! between |! the |! 9-yard |! marks, |! and |! talks |! to |! an |! assistant |! via |! a |! headset |! he |! brought |! to |! the |! huddle; |! or(c) |! the |! coach |! of |! B |! goes |! on |! the |! field |! and |! uses |! the |! time |! to |! berate |! and |! loudly |! question |! the |! referee |! regarding |! a |! previous |! play; |! or(d) |! the |! coach |! wishes |! to |! discuss |! the |! previous |! play |! with |! the |! referee; |! or(e) |! the |! head |! coach |! of |! A |! goes |! to |! the |! team |! huddle |! on |! the |! field |! for |! 30 |! seconds |! and |! then |! comes |! out |! and |! another |! coach |! takes |! his |! place |! for |! the |! rest |! of |! the |! time-out. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! It |! is |! a |! legal |! conference |! in |! (a) |! and |! (b). |! In |! (a), |!

the |! players |! may |! use |! the |! headsets. |! In |! (b), |! the |! players |! may |! not |! use |! the |! headsets. |! In |! (c) |! and |! (e), |! it |! is |! illegal. |! In |! (d), |! this |! conference |! must |! be |! held |! at |! the |! sideline |! in |! front |! of |! the |! team |! box |! regardless |! of |! which |! authorized |! conference |! procedure |! is |! used. |! (2-6-2, |! 9-8-1c, |! 9-8-1i) *3.5.8 |! SITUATION |! B: A |! game |! official |! stops |! the |! game |! clock |! for |! an |! injury |! to |! player |! A1. |! While |! the |! injured |! played |! is |! being |! attended |! to, |! the |! coach |! of |! Team |! B |! attempts |! to |! hold |! a |! conference |! (a) |! between |! the |! 9-yard |! marks; |! or |! (b) |! in |! front |! of |! the |! team |! box |! outside |! the |! 9-yard |! marks. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! the |! conference |! must |! move |! outside |! the |! 9-yard |! marks; |! in |! (b), |! legal |! conference. COMMENT: |! If |! the |! injured |! player |! is |! being |! attended |! in |! the |! area |! outside |! the |! 9-yard |! marks, |! the |! game |! officials |! should |! relocate |! the |! conference |! outside |! the |! 9-yard |! marks |! to |! an |! area |! that |! allowed |! for |! uninhibited |! access |! to |! the |! injured |! player |! by |! all |! appropriate |! health-care |! professionals. *3.5.10 |! SITUATION |! A: A |! game |! official |! stops |! the |! game |! or |! play |! clock |! when |! he |! notices |! quarterback |! A1 |! has |! a |! bloody |! nose. |! A1 |! is |! directed |! to |! go |! to |! his |! team |! box. |! The |! coach |! of |! A |! then |! requests |! a |! time-out |! and |! A1's |! bleeding |! is |! stopped |! during |! the |! time-out. |! A1 |! re-enters |! with |! other |! teammates |! following |! the |! time-out. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! A1 |! must |! remain |! in |! the |! team |! box |! for |! at |! least |! one |! down. |! A |! time-out |! called |! after |! a |! game |! official |! has |! stopped |! the |! game |! or |! play |! clock |! for |! an |! injured |! player |! does |! not |! allow |! the |! injured |! player |! to |! remain |! in |! the |! game. |! Any |! conference |! during |! the |! official's |! time-out |! must |! be |! held |! outside |! the |! 9-yard |! marks. |! If |! the |! coach's |! request |! for |! a |! charged |! timeout |! is |! granted, |! either |! type |! of |! conference |! may |! be |! used, |! but |! A1 |! may |! not |! re-enter |! the |! game |! until |! one |! play |! has |! elapsed |! and |! cannot |! participate |! in |! an |! on-field |! conference. |! [3-5-8a(3), |! 3-5-8c, |! 3-5-10]

*3.5.10 |! SITUATION |! E:

During |! a |! down, |! the |! helmet |! of |! A1 |! or |! B1 |! comes |! off: |! (a) |! after |! an |! opponent |! grasps |! the |! face |! mask, |! chin |! strap |! or |! tooth |! and |! mouth |! protector; |! (b) |! after |! a |! legal |! block |! to |! the |! opponent; |! (c) |! after |! a |! legal |! block |! by |! an |! opponent; |! or |! (d) |! after |! either |! falls |! to |! the |! ground |! without |! contact; |! (e) |! after |! either |! falls |! to |! the |! ground |! immediately |! following |! the |! ball |! becoming |! dead. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! the |! player |! does |! not |! have |! to |! be |! replaced |! for |! one |! down. |! In |! (b), |! (c), |! (d) |! and |! (e), |! the |! player |! must |! be |! replaced |! for |! one |! down |! unless |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! or |! an |! overtime |! intermission |! occurs. |! When |! in |! doubt, |! and |! particularly |! when |! no |! foul |! is |! called, |! the |! player |! must |! be |! replaced |! for |! one |! down |! unless |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! or |! an |! overtime |! intermission |! occurs. |! An |! officials |! or |! charged |! team |! time-out |! does |! not |! exempt |! the |! player |! from |! being |! replaced |! for |! one |! down. *3.5.10 |! SITUATION |! F: While |! tackling |! runner |! A1, |! B1's |! helmet |! comes |! off |! as |! a |! result |! of |! the |! legal |! tackle. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! B1 |! must |! be |! replaced |! for |! one |! down |! unless |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! or |! an |! overtime |! intermission |! occurs. *3.5.10 |! SITUATION |! G: Runner |! A1 |! is |! tackled |! legally |! by |! B1 |! and |! B2. |! A1's |! helmet |! comes |! off |! during |! the |! tackle. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! A1 |! must |! be |! replaced |! for |! one |! down |! unless |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! or |! an |! overtime |! intermission |! occurs. |! The |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! when |! A1's |! helmet |! comes |! off. |! (4-2-2k) *3.5.10 |! SITUATION |! H:

B10 |! has |! (a) |! a |! two-attachment |! points |! chin |! strap |! or |! (b) |! a |! four-attachment |! points |! chin |! strap |! and |! the |! umpire |! notices |! that |! not |! all |! attachment |! points |! are |! secured. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! All |! available |! attachment |! points |! must |! be |! secured |! and |! all |! helmets |! must |! be |! secured |! with |! a |! four-attachment |! points |! system. |! An |! official's |! time-out |! is |! declared |! and |! the |! player |! must |! be |! replaced |! for |! at |! least |! one |! down |! unless |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! or |! an |! overtime |! intermission |! occurs. COMMENT: |! Any |! time |! the |! play |! clock |! is |! interrupted |! for |! improperly |! worn |! or |! missing |! equipment |! by |! a |! player, |! the |! player |! is |! to |! be |! removed |! from |! the |! contest |! for |! at |! least |! one |! play. |! (1-5-5, |! 1-5-6, |! 3-5-10e) *3.5.10 |! SITUATION |! I: Team |! A's |! players |! are |! wearing |! jerseys: |! (a) |! just |! covering |! the |! shoulder |! pads, |! and |! their |! midriffs |! are |! exposed; |! or |! (b) |! that |! extend |! below |! the |! top |! of |! their |! pants, |! but |! some |! players |! have |! them |! tucked |! in, |! while |! others |! have |! them |! outside |! their |! pants; |! or |! (c) |! that |! are |! waist |! length, |! but |! have |! tucked |! them |! up |! under |! the |! bottom |! of |! their |! shoulder |! pads; |! or |! (d) |! with |! an |! undershirt |! that |! extends |! below |! the |! top |! of |! the |! waist |! line |! of |! the |! pants |! and |! is |! not |! tucked |! in. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! jerseys |! in |! (a) |! and |! (c) |! are |! not |! legal. |! An |! official's |! time-out |! is |! declared |! and |! the |! player |! must |! be |! replaced |! for |! at |! least |! one |! down |! unless |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! or |! an |! overtime |! intermission |! occurs. |! This |! incident |! should |! be |! reported |! to |! the |! proper |! administrative |! authorities |! at |! the |! visiting |! team's |! school |! and |! the |! state |! association |! office. |! In |! (b) |! and |! (d), |! the |! jerseys |! (and |! undershirts) |! of |! all |! players |! will |! have |! to |! be |! tucked |! inside |! the |! pants |! upon |! discovery |! and |! tucking |! the |! jerseys |! may |! not |! delay |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal. |! If |! repair |! cannot |! be |! made |! without |! delaying |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal, |! an |! official's |! time-out |! is |! declared |! and |! the |! player |! must |! be |! replaced |! for |! at |! least |! one |! down |! unless |! the |! halftime |! intermission |! or |! an |! overtime |! intermission |! occurs.