Docsity
Docsity

Prepare for your exams
Prepare for your exams

Study with the several resources on Docsity


Earn points to download
Earn points to download

Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan


Guidelines and tips
Guidelines and tips

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2 (Definitions of Playing Terms) exam with verified answer, Exercises of Sport Studies

NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2 (Definitions of Playing Terms) exam with verified answers

Typology: Exercises

2024/2025

Available from 07/11/2025

smart-scores
smart-scores 🇺🇸

5

(2)

7.4K documents

1 / 13

Toggle sidebar

This page cannot be seen from the preview

Don't miss anything!

bg1
NFHS |! Football |! Case |! Plays |! - |! Rule |! 2 |!
(Definitions |! of |! Playing |! Terms) |! exam |!
with |! verified |! answers
2.8 |! SITUATION |! A:
After |! the |! ball |! is |! marked |! ready |! for |! play |! for |! a |! scrimmage |! down:
(a) |! B1 |! enters |! the |! neutral |! zone |! to |! give |! defensive |! signals; |! or
(b) |! B2, |! the |! nose |! guard, |! places |! his |! hand |! on |! the |! ground |! so |! that |! it |! is |! in |!
contact |! with |! the |! ball.
After |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal |! and |! the |! snapper |! places |! hand(s) |! on |! the |! ball:
(c) |! A1 |! or |! B3 |! break |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone; |! or
(d) |! B1 |! is |! conferring |! with |! his |! coach |! and |! is |! on |! A's |! side |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! - |!
Correct |! answer |! RULING: |! Encroachment |! in |! (a), |! (b), |! (c) |! and |! (d). |!
Whenever |! a |! player |! is |! illegally |! in |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! it |! is |! encroachment. |! (7-1, |!
7-2)
2.8 |! SITUATION |! B:
After |! the |! ball |! is |! marked |! ready |! for |! play |! for |! a |! free |! kick, |! but |! before |! it |! is |!
kicked:
(a) |! place-kick |! holder |! K1 |! kneels |! so |! one |! leg |! and |! part |! of |! his |! body |! are |! beyond |!
K's |! free-kick |! line; |! or
(b) |! K2 |! who |! is |! near |! the |! kicker |! or |! the |! place-kick |! holder |! is |! beyond |! K's |! free-
kick |! line |! before |! the |! ball |! is |! kicked. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! RULING: |! In |! (a), |! it |! is |!
pf3
pf4
pf5
pf8
pf9
pfa
pfd

Partial preview of the text

Download NFHS Football Case Plays - Rule 2 (Definitions of Playing Terms) exam with verified answer and more Exercises Sport Studies in PDF only on Docsity!

NFHS |! Football |! Case |! Plays |! - |! Rule |! 2 |!

(Definitions |! of |! Playing |! Terms) |! exam |!

with |! verified |! answers

2.8 |! SITUATION |! A:

After |! the |! ball |! is |! marked |! ready |! for |! play |! for |! a |! scrimmage |! down: (a) |! B1 |! enters |! the |! neutral |! zone |! to |! give |! defensive |! signals; |! or (b) |! B2, |! the |! nose |! guard, |! places |! his |! hand |! on |! the |! ground |! so |! that |! it |! is |! in |! contact |! with |! the |! ball. After |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal |! and |! the |! snapper |! places |! hand(s) |! on |! the |! ball: (c) |! A1 |! or |! B3 |! break |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone; |! or (d) |! B1 |! is |! conferring |! with |! his |! coach |! and |! is |! on |! A's |! side |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Encroachment |! in |! (a), |! (b), |! (c) |! and |! (d). |! Whenever |! a |! player |! is |! illegally |! in |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! it |! is |! encroachment. |! (7-1, |! 7-2) 2.8 |! SITUATION |! B: After |! the |! ball |! is |! marked |! ready |! for |! play |! for |! a |! free |! kick, |! but |! before |! it |! is |! kicked: (a) |! place-kick |! holder |! K1 |! kneels |! so |! one |! leg |! and |! part |! of |! his |! body |! are |! beyond |! K's |! free-kick |! line; |! or (b) |! K2 |! who |! is |! near |! the |! kicker |! or |! the |! place-kick |! holder |! is |! beyond |! K's |! free- kick |! line |! before |! the |! ball |! is |! kicked. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! it |! is |!

permissible |! for |! the |! place-kick |! holder |! or |! the |! kicker |! to |! be |! beyond |! the |! free- kick |! line |! prior |! to |! the |! time |! the |! ball |! is |! kicked. |! In |! (b), |! it |! is |! encroachment |! for |! any |! other |! player |! to |! be |! beyond |! his |! free-kick |! line |! prior |! to |! the |! time |! the |! ball |! is |! kicked. 2.8 |! SITUATION |! C: Following |! the |! ready-for-play |! signal, |! but |! before |! the |! free |! kick: (a) |! R1 |! advances |! to |! block |! the |! kicker/holder |! and |! is |! beyond |! the |! plane |! of |! R's |! free-kick |! line |! before |! the |! ball |! is |! kicked; |! or(b) |! R |! has |! only |! four |! players |! within |! 5 |! yards |! of |! its |! free-kick |! line; |! or (c) |! R2, |! who |! is |! one |! of |! several |! R |! players |! within |! 5 |! yards |! of |! his |! free-kick |! line, |! retreats |! from |! this |! area |! prior |! to |! the |! time |! the |! ball |! is |! kicked. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! it |! is |! encroachment. |! The |! covering |! official |! will |! sound |! his |! whistle |! to |! prevent |! the |! ball |! from |! being |! kicked |! when |! encroachment |! occurs. |! In |! (b) |! and |! (c), |! the |! action |! is |! legal, |! as |! there |! is |! no |! requirement |! for |! positioning |! of |! R |! players |! on |! their |! side |! of |! the |! neutral |! zone. 2.15.2 |! SITUATION: It |! is |! first |! and |! 10 |! for |! A |! at |! B's |! 12-yard |! line. |! A1 |! sprints |! near |! the |! end |! line |! and |! then |! buttonhooks. |! He |! jumps |! and |! possesses |! a |! forward |! pass |! while |! in |! the |! air |! above |! the |! end |! zone. (a) |! A1's |! momentum |! carries |! him |! back |! into |! the |! field |! of |! play |! and |! he |! lands |! and |! is |! downed |! on |! the |! 1-yard |! line; |! or(b) |! while |! in |! the |! air |! in |! the |! end |! zone, |! he |! is |! contacted |! by |! B1 |! and |! he |! is |! carried |! out |! of |! the |! end |! zone |! and |! downed |! on |! B's |! 2-yard |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! it |! is |! A's |! ball |! first |! and |! goal |! at |! B's |! 1-yard |! line. |! In |! (b), |! it |! is |! a |! touchdown |! because |! A1 |! was |! contacted |! in |! the |! end |! zone. |! (2-4-1)

Linebacker |! B7 |! is |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone, |! but |! off |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage. |! B7 |! blocks |! A8 |! below |! the |! waist. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Illegal |! block. |! In |! order |! for |! a |! block |! below |! the |! waist |! to |! be |! legal, |! both |! the |! blocker |! and |! the |! person |! being |! blocked |! must |! be |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! and |! in |! the |! free- blocking |! zone. *2.17.2 |! SITUATION |! E: A1 |! is |! in |! shotgun |! formation, |! lined |! up |! seven |! yards |! behind |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! ready |! to |! receive |! the |! snap. |! Immediately |! after |! the |! snap |! to |! A1, |! (a) |! A2 |! initiates |! his |! block |! simultaneously |! with |! the |! snap |! and |! blocks |! B1 |! below |! the |! waist |! or |! (b) |! A2 |! rises, |! and |! slightly |! retreats |! as |! if |! to |! go |! in |! traditional |! pass |! blocking |! protection, |! but |! then |! dives |! and |! blocks |! B1 |! below |! the |! waist. |! Both |! A2 |! and |! B1 |! were |! in |! the |! zone |! and |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! at |! the |! snap. |! The |! contact |! between |! A2 |! and |! B1 |! takes |! place |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! It |! is |! a |! legal |! block |! in |! (a) |! and |! an |! illegal |! block |! below |! the |! waist |! in |! (b). |! It |! is |! legal |! for |! A2 |! to |! block |! B1 |! below |! the |! waist |! while |! the |! free- blocking |! zone |! exists |! and |! this |! likely |! can |! only |! occur |! in |! (a) |! if |! the |! block |! is |! initiated |! simultaneously |! with |! the |! snap. |! Any |! later, |! and |! the |! ball |! will |! likely |! have |! left |! the |! free-blocking |! zone |! and |! the |! block |! is |! illegal. 2.17.3 |! SITUATION |! A: Offensive |! lineman |! A1 |! is |! on |! his |! scrimmage |! line |! and |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone |! at |! the |! snap. |! Immediately |! after |! the |! snap |! he |! drops |! back |! one |! step, |! then |! moves |! quickly |! three |! steps |! to |! the |! inside |! and |! while |! still |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone, |! contacts |! B1 |! in |! the |! back. |! The |! ball |! has |! not |! left |! the |! free-blocking |! zone |! prior |! to |! A1's |! block. |! B1 |! was |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone |! at |! the |! snap. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal |! block |! by |! A1. 2.17.3 |! SITUATION |! B:

Quarterback |! A1 |! takes |! the |! snap |! and |! hands |! off |! to |! back |! A2 |! who |! takes |! a |! few |! steps |! left |! and |! then |! hands |! off |! to |! back |! A3 |! who |! attempts |! to |! run |! wide |! to |! the |! right. |! Linemen |! A4 |! and |! A5 |! pull |! and |! block |! opponents |! from |! behind |! in |! the |! back |! while |! the |! ball |! is |! still |! in |! the |! zone. |! The |! defenders |! and |! linemen |! were |! in |! the |! zone |! at |! the |! snap |! and |! the |! contact |! occurred |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal |! contact. 2.17.3 |! SITUATION |! C: A9 |! is |! approaching |! B10 |! in |! the |! open |! field |! and |! at |! an |! angle. |! A9 |! pushes |! B10 |! in |! the |! back |! with |! one |! hand |! and |! with |! the |! other |! hand |! on |! the |! shoulder. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! This |! is |! an |! illegal |! block |! in |! the |! back. |! (9-3-5) 2.17.3 |! SITUATION |! D: A2 |! is |! on |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! and |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone |! at |! the |! snap. |! A2 |! pulls |! down |! the |! line |! and |! contacts |! B7 |! (who |! was |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone |! at |! the |! snap) |! inside |! the |! shoulders, |! below |! the |! neck, |! above |! the |! waist |! and |! in |! the |! back |! while |! B7 |! and |! the |! ball |! are |! still |! in |! the |! free-blocking |! zone. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! Legal. 2.20.1 |! SITUATION |! A: From |! a |! four-point |! stance |! on |! the |! offensive |! line, |! interior |! lineman |! A1: (a) |! initially |! contacts |! an |! opponent |! by |! driving |! his |! face |! mask |! directly |! into |! the |! opponent's |! chest |! who |! is |! not |! the |! runner; |! or(b) |! contacts |! an |! opponent |! with |! his |! shoulder |! so |! that |! his |! head |! is |! to |! the |! side |! of |! the |! opponent's |! body |! and |! the |! helmet |! does |! not |! make |! initial |! contact; |! or(c) |! attempts |! to |! block |! an |! opponent |! with |! a |! shoulder, |! but |! because |! of |! a |! defensive |! slant, |! primary |! contact |! with |! the |! opponent |! is |! made |! with |! A1's |! helmet. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! block |! in |! (a) |! is |! illegal |! butt |! blocking. |! In |! (b), |! even |! though |! there |! was |! some |!

(a) |! A1 |! advances |! into |! B's |! end |! zone |! while |! holding |! the |! ball |! outside |! the |! sideline |! plane; |! or(b) |! A1 |! dives |! toward |! the |! end |! zone, |! but |! is |! hit |! by |! B1 |! which |! causes |! him |! to |! land |! out |! of |! bounds |! beyond |! the |! goal-line |! extended. A1's |! last |! contact |! with |! the |! ground |! was |! short |! of |! the |! goal |! line. |! In |! both |! cases |! the |! ball |! breaks |! the |! plane |! of |! B's |! goal-line |! extended. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a), |! it |! is |! a |! touchdown |! because |! A1 |! was |! touching |! inbounds |! when |! the |! ball |! broke |! the |! plane |! of |! the |! goal-line |! extended. |! However, |! in |! (b) |! since |! A1 |! was |! not |! touching |! inbounds |! and |! was |! short |! of |! the |! goal |! line |! when |! he |! was |! hit, |! it |! is |! not |! a |! touchdown |! even |! though |! the |! ball |! did |! break |! the |! goal-line |! plane |! extended. |! The |! ball |! is |! spotted |! at |! the |! inbounds |! spot |! on |! the |! yard |! line |! where |! the |! foremost |! point |! of |! the |! ball |! crossed |! the |! sideline |! plane |! when |! A1 |! was |! driven |! out |! of |! bounds. 2.28.2 |! SITUATION |! A: B1 |! is |! on |! his |! defensive |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! when |! he |! is |! contacted |! by |! ineligible |! lineman |! A1 |! and |! driven |! back |! about |! 2 |! yards |! downfield. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! A1 |! is |! not |! illegally |! downfield, |! nor |! has |! he |! committed |! pass |! interference |! if |! a |! forward |! pass |! crosses |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! since |! he |! contacted |! B1 |! in |! or |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone |! and |! after |! driving |! him |! downfield |! did |! not |! go |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! expanded. |! If |! it |! is |! a |! low |! scrimmage |! kick |! and |! B1 |! touches |! it, |! the |! touching |! is |! ignored. |! B1 |! is |! considered |! to |! be |! on |! his |! line |! when |! he |! is |! within |! 1 |! yard |! of |! his |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! at |! the |! snap. |! The |! neutral |! zone |! may |! not |! be |! expanded |! into |! the |! end |! zone. |! (2-25-3, |! 6-2-6, |! 7-5-12) 2.28.2 |! SITUATION |! B: On |! a |! scrimmage |! kick |! R1 |! is |! 1 ½ |! yards |! behind |! his |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! when |! he |! jumps |! up |! and |! deflects |! the |! kick. |! (a) |! R1 |! was, |! or |! (b) |! was |! not, |! driven |! off |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! by |! a |! block |! by |! K1. |! Is |! the |! touching |! of |! the |! kick |! ignored? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! the |! touching |! of |! a |! low |! scrimmage |! kick |! is |! ignored. |! Whether |! a |! player |! was |! or |! was |! not |! blocked |! into |!

the |! expanded |! zone |! does |! not |! affect |! this |! ruling. |! The |! neutral |! zone |! is |! automatically |! expanded |! 2 |! yards |! behind |! the |! defensive |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! on |! scrimmage |! kicks. |! (6-2-6) 2.29.3 |! SITUATION: A |! free |! kick |! by |! K1 |! is |! touched |! by |! R1 |! on |! his |! 15-yard |! line |! and |! then |! it: |! (a) |! rolls |! out |! of |! bounds |! at |! R's |! 5-yard |! line; |! or |! (b) |! contacts |! a |! game |! official |! in |! the |! field |! of |! play |! and |! thereafter |! rolls |! out |! of |! bounds |! at |! the |! 5-yard |! line; |! or |! (c) |! contacts |! a |! game |! official |! who |! is |! straddling |! the |! sideline |! at |! the |! 5-yard |! line; |! or |! (d) |! contacts |! a |! game |! official |! in |! the |! end |! zone. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! ball |! will |! be |! put |! in |! play |! by |! R |! from |! its |! 5-yard |! line |! in |! (a), |! (b) |! and |! (c). |! In |! (a), |! R1 |! was |! the |! last |! to |! touch |! the |! kick |! before |! it |! went |! out |! of |! bounds. |! In |! (b), |! the |! fact |! that |! the |! ball |! touched |! a |! game |! official |! who |! was |! inbounds |! does |! not |! change |! its |! status. |! In |! fact, |! this |! touching |! is |! ignored |! and |! therefore |! R1, |! in |! effect, |! was |! the |! last |! to |! touch |! the |! ball |! before |! it |! went |! out |! of |! bounds. |! In |! (c), |! when |! the |! loose |! ball |! touches |! a |! game |! official |! who |! is |! straddling |! the |! sideline, |! it |! causes |! the |! ball |! to |! be |! out |! of |! bounds |! and |! R1 |! was |! the |! last |! to |! touch |! it. |! In |! (d), |! the |! ball |! is |! dead |! when |! it |! breaks |! the |! goal-line |! plane |! and |! a |! touchback |! results. |! (6-1-9, |! 8-5-3a) 2.31.2 |! SITUATION: Quarterback |! A1 |! drops |! back |! to |! pass |! and |! is |! under |! a |! heavy |! rush. |! A1 |! is |! hit |! and |! the |! ball |! drops |! to |! the |! ground |! and |! B1 |! recovers. |! At |! the |! instant |! A1 |! was |! hit |! and |! lost |! possession, |! his |! passing |! arm |! was: (a) |! moving |! backward; |! or(b) |! was |! extended |! back, |! but |! not |! moving |! in |! either |! direction |! in |! relation |! to |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage; |! or(c) |! was |! moving |! forward |! toward |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! In |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! it |! is |! a |! fumble |! and |! B |! gains |! possession. |! In |! (c), |! since |! A1's |! arm |! was |! moving |! forward |! toward |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage, |! it |! is |! an |! incomplete |! forward |! pass |! and |! the |! ball |! becomes |! dead |! when |! it |! hits |! the |! ground. |! (2-18)

Contact |! against |! a |! defenseless |! intended |! receiver |! of |! a |! pass |! in |! the |! action |! during |! and |! immediately |! following |! an |! interception |! or |! potential |! interception., |! that |! is |! not |! judged |! excessive |! per |! 9-4-3g. |! a) |! Is |! contact |! allowed? b) |! Penalty |! if |! not |! illegal |! helmet |! contact |! or |! targeting? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔a) |! yes b) |! For |! an |! interception, |! no |! foul. |! For |! a |! potential |! interception, |! no |! foul |! if |! contact |! is |! unavoidable |! and |! not |! late; |! otherwise |! unnecessary |! roughness. |! (9-4- 3g) Contact |! against |! a |! defenseless |! runner |! already |! in |! the |! grasp |! of |! a |! tackler |! and |! whose |! forward |! progress |! has |! been |! stopped, |! that |! is |! not |! judged |! excessive |! per |! 9-4-3g. |! a) |! Is |! contact |! allowed? b) |! Penalty |! if |! not |! illegal |! helmet |! contact |! or |! targeting? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔a) |! no b) |! Unnecessary |! roughness. |! (9-4-3g) Contact |! against |! a |! defenseless |! koff |! or |! punt |! returner |! attempting |! to |! catch |! or |! recover |! a |! kick, |! or |! one |! who |! has |! completed |! a |! catch |! or |! recovery |! and |! has |! not |! had |! time |! to |! protect |! himself |! or |! has |! not |! clearly |! become |! a |! ball |! carrier, |! that |! is |! not |! judged |! excessive |! per |! 9-4-3g. |! a) |! Is |! contact |! allowed? b) |! Penalty |! if |! not |! illegal |! helmet |! contact |! or |! targeting? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔a) |! yes

b) |! For |! an |! attempt |! to |! catch, |! kick |! catching |! interference. |! (6-5-6) |! For |! an |! attempt |! to |! recover, |! no |! foul. |! For |! a |! completed |! catch |! or |! recovery, |! no |! foul. Contact |! against |! a |! defenseless |! player |! on |! the |! ground |! including |! a |! ball |! carrier |! who |! has |! obviously |! given |! himself |! up |! and |! is |! sliding |! feet |! first, |! that |! is |! not |! judged |! excessive |! per |! 9-4-3g. |! a) |! Is |! contact |! allowed? b) |! Penalty |! if |! not |! illegal |! helmet |! contact |! or |! targeting? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔a) |! no b) |! Unnecessary |! roughness. |! (9-4-3g) Contact |! against |! a |! defenseless |! player |! obviously |! out |! of |! the |! play |! or |! not |! in |! the |! immediate |! vicinity |! of |! the |! runner, |! that |! is |! not |! judged |! excessive |! per |! 9-4-3g. |! a) |! Is |! contact |! allowed? b) |! Penalty |! if |! not |! illegal |! helmet |! contact |! or |! targeting? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔a) |! no b) |! Unnecessary |! roughness. |! (9-4-3g) Contact |! against |! a |! defenseless |! player |! who |! receives |! a |! "blindside" |! block |! with |! forcible |! contact |! not |! initiated |! with |! open |! hands, |! that |! is |! not |! judged |! excessive |! per |! 9-4-3g. |! a) |! Is |! contact |! allowed? b) |! Penalty |! if |! not |! illegal |! helmet |! contact |! or |! targeting? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔a) |! no b) |! Illegal |! blindside |! block. |! (9-4-3n)

B1 |! tackles |! runner |! A1 |! with: |! (a) |! a |! cross-body |! block |! at |! the |! knees; |! or |! (b) |! a |! block |! from |! behind |! and |! below |! the |! waist; |! (c) |! his |! arms |! and |! shoulder; |! or |! (d) |! a |! trip |! with |! his |! foot. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔RULING: |! The |! techniques |! in |! (a), |! (b), |! and |! (c) |! are |! all |! legal |! methods |! of |! tackling |! the |! runner. |! The |! technique |! in |! (d) |! in |! not |! a |! legal |! method |! of |! tackling |! the |! runner. |! (2-45, |! 9-3-5c, |! 9-4-3o)