









Study with the several resources on Docsity
Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan
Prepare for your exams
Study with the several resources on Docsity
Earn points to download
Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan
Community
Ask the community for help and clear up your study doubts
Discover the best universities in your country according to Docsity users
Free resources
Download our free guides on studying techniques, anxiety management strategies, and thesis advice from Docsity tutors
NFHS Football Case book- Rule 6 Kicking the ball and Fair Catch exam with precise detailed solutions
Typology: Exercises
1 / 15
This page cannot be seen from the preview
Don't miss anything!
Recovery |! by |! K- |! 6.1.5 |! Situation |! A: A |! kickoff |! by |! K1 |! from |! K's |! 40 |! is |! muffed |! by |! R1 |! near |! his |! 20-yard |! line. |! The |! muff |! is |! caught |! by |! K2 |! at |! the |! 18 |! and |! he |! advances |! into |! R's |! end |! zone. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! It |! will |! be |! K's |! ball |! first |! and |! 10 |! from |! R's |! 18. |! K2 |! may |! catch |! or |! recover |! the |! muffed |! kick, |! but |! may |! not |! advance. |! The |! ball |! is |! dead |! when |! K |! gains |! possession. |! The |! covering |! official |! should |! sound |! his |! whistle |! to |! stop |! play |! immediately |! when |! the |! ball |! becomes |! dead. Recovery |! by |! K- |! 6.1.5 |! Situation |! B: |! K's |! free |! kick |! is |! bouncing |! on |! the |! ground |! in |! the |! neutral |! zone |! where |! R1 |! and |! K1 |! are |! engaged |! in |! blocking |! one |! another. |! K2 |! muffs |! the |! ball |! and |! the |! ball |! touches |! R1 |! on |! the |! leg |! and |! K3 |! recovers |! the |! ball. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! The |! touching |! by |! R |! is |! ignored |! and |! R |! will |! be |! awarded |! possession |! of |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! first |! touching |! or |! at |! the |! dead-ball |! spot. First |! touching |! of |! a |! free |! kick- |! *6.1.6 |! Situation |! A: A |! free |! kick |! from |! K's |! 40 |! is |! high |! and |! comes |! down |! over |! K's |! 45 |! where |! it |! is |! muffed |! in |! flight |! by |! K2 |! after |! which |! it |! is |! recovered |! by |! K3 |! on |! R's |! 40. |! - |!
Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! This |! is |! first |! touching |! and |! also |! kick-catching |! interference |! by |! K2. |! R |! may |! choose |! to |! take |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! first |! touching, |! take |! the |! results |! of |! the |! play |! or |! accept |! the |! 15-yard |! penalty |! for |! kick-catching |! interference. |! If |! the |! distance |! penalty |! is |! accepted, |! it |! is |! R's |! choice |! to |! have |! the |! penalty |! enforced |! from |! the |! spot |! of |! the |! foul |! or |! have |! it |! enforced |! from |! the |! previous |! spot |! and |! require |! K |! to |! rekick. Comment: |! The |! clock |! will |! not |! be |! started |! when |! there |! is |! first |! touching |! of |! a |! free |! kick. |! The |! purpose |! is |! to |! prevent |! the |! kickers |! from |! taking |! advantage |! by |! touching |! the |! ball |! to |! start |! the |! clock |! and |! thereby |! deny |! the |! receivers |! the |! opportunity |! of |! putting |! the |! ball |! in |! play. |! The |! exception |! "the |! clock |! not |! start |! with |! first |! touching," |! is |! protection |! for |! the |! receiving |! team |! and |! is |! consistent |! with |! the |! philosophy |! that |! the |! receiving |! team |! be |! given |! an |! opportunity |! of |! putting |! the |! ball |! in |! play |! following |! a |! free |! kick. |! (3-4-1; |! 6-5-4, |! 6) First |! touching |! of |! a |! free |! kick- |! 6.1.6 |! Situation |! B: The |! ball |! is |! free |! kicked |! from |! K's |! 40-yard |! line |! and |! in |! flight, |! it |! crosses |! the |! 50- yard |! line |! before |! a |! strong |! wind |! blows |! it |! back |! to |! K's |! 45 |! where |! it: (a) |! is |! touched |! in |! flight |! by |! K1, |! or |! (b) |! touches |! the |! ground |! and |! is |! recovered |! by |! K2. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! Kick-catching |! interference |! in |! (a), |! first |! and |! 10 |! for |! K |! in |! (b). Comment: |! The |! free-kick |! lines |! marking |! the |! neutral |! zone |! for |! K |! and |! R |! are |! vertical |! planes. |! When |! the |! free |! kick |! penetrates |! R's |! free-kick |! line |! in |! flight, |! it |! is |! considered |! to |! have |! gone |! the |! required |! 10 |! yards. |! If |! it |! also |! has |! touched |! the |! ground, |! before |! or |! after |! going |! 10 |! yards, |! it |! can |! be |! recovered, |! but |! not |! advanced |! by |! K. |! (6-1-5) Causing |! free |! kick |! to |! be |! out |! of |! bounds- |! 6.1.8 |! Situation |! A: |! The |! free |! kick |! by |! K1 |! is |! possessed |! by |! R1 |! who: |!
will |! have |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! inbounds |! spot. |! In |! (b), |! since |! R1 |! is |! out |! of |! bounds |! when |! the |! ball is |! touched, |! the |! kicker |! has |! caused |! the |! ball |! to |! be |! out |! of |! bounds. . Causing |! free |! kick |! to |! be |! out |! of |! bounds- |! 6.1.8 |! Situation |! D: K1 |! tries |! an |! onside |! kick |! from |! K's |! 40, |! as |! the |! ball |! bounces |! near |! the |! sideline |! the |! ball |! is |! muffed |! out-of-bounds |! by |! K2 |! at |! R's |! 49. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! R |! could |! have |! K |! rekick |! after |! a |! five |! yard |! penalty, |! or |! take |! the |! ball |! 1st |! and |! 10 |! at |! the |! inbounds |! spot |! at |! R's |! 49, |! or |! take |! the |! ball |! 1st |! and |! 10 |! at |! the |! inbounds |! spot |! at |! R's |! 35. Causing |! free |! kick |! to |! be |! out |! of |! bounds- |! 6.1.8 |! Situation |! E: K1 |! squib |! kicks |! the |! kickoff |! to |! R's |! 30 |! where |! (a) |! R |! muffs |! the |! ball |! out-of- bounds |! at |! R's |! 28, |! (b) |! R |! muffs |! the |! ball |! toward |! the |! side |! lines |! where |! K2 |! muffs |! the |! ball |! out-of-bounds |! at |! R's |! 28. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! In |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b), |! R |! would |! put |! the |! ball |! in |! play |! at |! R's |! 28. Causing |! free |! kick |! to |! be |! out |! of |! bounds- |! 6.1.8 |! Situation |! F: K1 |! tries |! an |! onside |! kick |! from |! K's |! 40. |! K2 |! muffs |! the |! ball |! at |! K's |! 48, |! and |! the |! ball |! bounces |! off |! R |! and |! is |! muffed |! out |! of |! bounds |! by |! K3 |! at |! R's |! 45. |! K |! did |! not |! force |! the |! ball |! into |! R. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! R |! can |! either |! choose |! to |! take |! the |! ball |! at |! K's |! 48 |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! first |! touching |! or |! at |! R's |! 45 |! where |! the |! ball |! went |! out |! of |! bounds. |! The |! free |! kick |! was |! touched |! by |! R, |! so |! R |! has |! no |! re- kick |! option. Causing |! free |! kick |! to |! be |! out |! of |! bounds- |! 6.1.8 |! Situation |! G:
Team |! K |! free |! kicks |! from |! its |! own |! 40-yard |! line. |! K1's |! onside |! kick |! is |! rolling |! at |! K's |! 46-yard |! line, |! when |! K2 |! muffs |! the |! ball, |! which |! then |! touches |! R3's |! leg |! and |! goes |! out |! of |! bounds |! at |! K's |! 48-yard |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! Since |! R's |! touching |! is |! now |! ignored, |! this |! is |! a |! free |! kick |! that |! went |! out |! of |! bounds. |! R |! has |! the |! option |! of |! accepting |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! first |! touching |! by |! K |! or |! having |! the |! penalty |! enforced |! for |! the |! free |! kick |! out |! of |! bounds |! with |! all |! these |! options: |! (a) |! re-kick |! following |! a |! 5-yard |! penalty; |! (b) |! awarded |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! inbounds |! spot |! at |! the |! yard |! line |! where |! the |! ball |! went |! out |! of |! bounds; |! or |! (c) |! accept |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! inbounds |! spot |! 25 |! yards |! from |! the |! yard |! line |! of |! the |! free |! kick. |! (10-5-1a) Causing |! free |! kick |! to |! be |! out |! of |! bounds- |! 6.1.8 |! Situation |! H: Team |! K, |! after |! accepting |! the |! penalties |! for |! multiple |! R |! fouls, |! is |! now |! free |! kicking |! from |! R's |! 20-yard |! line. |! In |! attempting |! to |! onside |! kick, |! the |! ball |! goes |! out |! bounds |! untouched |! in |! the |! field |! of |! play. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! R |! may |! take |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! inbounds |! spot, |! or |! accept |! the |! 5-yard |! penalty |! and |! have |! K |! re-kick |! from |! R's |! 25-yard |! line. Touching |! and |! recovering |! scrimmage |! kicks- |! 6.2.3 |! Situation |! A: |! A |! scrimmage |! kick |! by |! K1 |! is |! partially |! blocked |! in |! the |! neutral |! zone |! by |! R1. |! The |! kick |! goes |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! where |! R2 |! muffs |! it |! back |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! K2 |! recovers |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone |! and |! advances |! across |! R's |! goal |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! Touchdown |! for |! K. Comment: |! The |! right |! of |! the |! kickers |! to |! advance |! their |! recovered |! scrimmage |! kick |! depends |! entirely |! upon |! whether |! the |! kick |! is |! recovered |! in, |! behind |! or |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! Whether |! the |! kick |! went |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! and |! then |! rebounded |! behind |! it |! is |! of |! no |! consequence. |! The |! spot |! of |! recovery |! is |! the |! only |! factor. |! If |! the |! recovery |! is |! in |! or |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! K |! may
results |! of |! the |! play |! or |! retain |! possession |! by |! taking |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! K1's |! first |! touching. |! R |! can |! exercise |! this |! option, |! unless |! after |! R1 |! touches |! the |! ball, |! R |! commits |! a |! foul |! or |! the |! penalty |! is |! accepted |! for |! any |! foul |! committed |! during |! the |! down. Touching |! and |! recovering |! scrimmage |! kicks- |! 6.2.5 |! Situation |! B: K2, |! running |! toward |! R's |! end |! zone, |! leaps |! in |! the |! air |! to |! catch |! K1's |! punt |! which |! is |! in |! flight. |! K2 |! has |! the |! ball |! in |! his |! grasp |! over |! the |! 1-yard |! line, |! but |! first |! touches |! the |! ground |! in |! R's |! end |! zone. |! No |! player |! of |! R |! is |! in |! position |! to |! catch |! the |! punt. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! R |! can |! take |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! first |! touching, |! his |! own |! 1-yard |! line, |! or |! take |! a |! touchback |! since |! K2 |! has |! not |! possessed |! the |! ball |! until |! he |! came |! to |! the |! ground |! in |! the |! end |! zone. |! (6-3-1) Touching |! and |! recovering |! scrimmage |! kicks- |! *6.2.5 |! Situation |! C: With |! fourth |! and |! 5 |! from |! K's |! 30-yard |! line, |! K9 |! punts |! the |! ball downfield |! where |! it |! is |! grounded |! and |! touched |! by |! K88 |! (first |! touching) |! at |! R's |!
What |! is |! the |! reason |! for |! having |! an |! expanded |! neutral |! zone |! during |! scrimmage |! kicks |! and |! how |! does |! it |! affect |! the |! touching |! of |! a |! low |! kick |! in |! that |! area? |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! The |! purpose |! of |! expanding |! the |! neutral |! zone |! during |! a |! scrimmage kick |! is |! to |! permit |! normal |! line |! play. |! The |! neutral |! zone |! is |! expanded |! up |! to |! a |! maximum |! of |! 2 |! yards |! behind |! the |! defensive |! line |! of |! scrimmage |! (beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone) |! to |! allow |! offensive |! linemen |! to |! block |! and |! drive |! defensive |! linemen |! off |! the |! line |! of |! scrimmage. |! Low |! scrimmage |! kicks |! may |! touch |! or |! be |! touched |! by |! players |! of |! K |! or |! R, |! and |! such |! touching |! is |! ignored |! if |! the |! kick |! has |! not |! been |! beyond |! the |! expanded |! neutral |! zone. |! The |! zone |! disintegrates |! immediately |! when |! the |! kick |! has |! crossed |! the |! expanded |! zone |! or |! when |! the |! trajectory |! is |! such |! that |! it |! cannot |! be |! touched |! until |! it |! comes |! down. |! Once |! the |! zone |! disintegrates, |! touching |! of |! the |! kick |! by |! K |! in |! flight |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! is |! kick-catching |! interference |! if |! an |! R |! player |! is |! in |! position |! to |! catch |! the |! ball. |! If |! touched |! by |! R |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! it |! establishes |! a |! new |! series. |! (2-28-2; |! 5-1-3f; |! 6-5-6) Simultaneous |! recovery- |! *6.2.7 |! Situation: |! Fourth |! and |! 3 |! for |! K |! from |! their |! own |! 10-yard |! line. |! A |! scrimmage kick |! by |! K1 |! is |! muffed |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! by |! R1 |! and |! rebounds |! back |! into |! K's |! end |! zone |! where |! it |! is |! simultaneously |! recovered |! by |! opposing |! players. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! Touchdown |! for |! R. |! If |! K |! is |! in |! possession |! in |! K's |! end |! zone |! at |! the |! end |! of |! the |! down, |! it |! is |! a |! safety. |! If |! R |! is |! in |! possession |! or |! if |! there |! is |! joint |! possession, |! it |! is |! a |! touchdown. |! The |! ball |! is |! awarded |! to |! R |! when |! any |! scrimmage |! kick |! is |! out |! of |! bounds |! between |! the goal |! lines, |! becomes |! dead |! inbounds |! between |! the |! goal |! lines |! while |! no |! player |! is |! in |! possession |! or |! becomes |! dead |! inbounds |! anywhere |! while |! opponents |! are |! in |! joint |! possession. |! Since |! the |! kick |! was |! muffed |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone |! and |! there |! has |! been |! no |! possession, |! it |! is |! still |! a |! kick |! into |! K's |! own |! end |! zone. |! (4-2- 2e; |! 8-2-1b)
dead |! when |! it |! was |! caught. |! In |! (b), |! it |! is |! an |! illegal |! block |! because |! R2 |! blocked |! before |! the |! kick |! ended |! after |! giving |! a |! signal |! and |! the |! penalty, |! if |! accepted, |! will |! be |! administered |! from |! the |! post-scrimmage |! kick |! spot. |! In |! (c), |! the |! ball |! became |! dead |! as |! soon |! as |! R1 |! recovered. |! (4-2-2g; |! 6-5-5; |! 9-3-3) Fair-catch |! signal |! during |! kick- |! 6.5.1 |! Situation |! B: K1 |! attempts |! an |! onside |! kick |! from |! his |! own |! 40, |! but |! instead |! of |! causing |! the |! ball |! to |! strike |! the |! ground |! and |! bounce, |! he |! pops |! it |! up |! into |! the |! air. |! R1 |! signals |! for |! a |! fair |! catch |! while |! the |! kick |! is |! in |! flight |! and |! catches |! the |! ball: |! (a) |! before |! it |! crosses |! R's |! free-kick |! line; |! or |! (b) |! after |! it |! has |! gone |! beyond |! R's |! free-kick |! line. |!
Fair-catch |! signal |! during |! kick- |! 6.5.2 |! Situation |! B: K2's |! punt |! is |! high |! and |! a |! strong |! wind |! blows |! it |! back |! toward |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! R1 |! gives |! a |! valid |! signal |! while |! he |! is |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone. |! However, |! the |! ball |! comes |! down: |! (a) |! in, |! or |! (b) |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone |! and |! K2 |! pushes |! R1 |! and |! then |! catches |! the |! kick |! and |! advances. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! Since |! K |! may |! catch |! or |! recover |! a |! scrimmage |! kick |! in |! or |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone |! and |! advance, |! the |! action |! in |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! is |! legal. |! Since |! R |! may |! not |! fair |! catch |! in |! or |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! he |! may |! be |! legally |! contacted |! there. Fair-catch |! signal |! during |! kick- |! 6.5.3-Situation: R1 |! signals |! for |! a |! fair |! catch |! of |! a |! scrimmage |! kick |! by |! K1. Teammate |! R2 |! catches |! the |! kick |! and |! is |! tackled |! immediately |! by |! K1 |! who |! did |! or |! did |! not |! have |! a |! chance |! to |! see |! the |! signal. |! The |! contact |! which |! was |! not |! a |! personal |! foul |! occurred |! before |! the |! covering |! official |! sounded |! his |! whistle. |! R2 |! fumbles |! when |! tack- led |! and |! the |! ball |! is |! recovered |! by |! K2. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! The |! ball |! became |! dead |! when |! it |! was |! caught |! by |! R2. |! The |! contact |! by |! K1 |! was |! not |! a |! foul |! because |! R2 |! did |! not |! signal |! for |! a fair |! catch. |! R2 |! fumbled |! a |! dead |! ball |! and |! there |! could |! be |! no |! recovery |! by |! K2. Comment: |! Contacting |! a |! receiver |! who |! did |! not |! give |! a |! fair-catch |! signal |! or |! contacting |! a |! receiver |! who |! has |! given |! a |! signal |! but |! is |! contacted |! where |! he |! cannot |! make |! a |! fair |! catch, |! is |! not |! a |! foul |! unless |! the |! contact |! is |! judged |! to |! be |! a |! personal |! foul. |! The |! receiver |! is |! not |! afforded |! special |! protection |! in |! such |! situations. |! Members |! of |! the |! kicking |! team |! have |! the |! responsibility |! for |! knowing |! when |! the |! ball |! is |! dead. |! If |! a |! kicker |! could |! not |! have |! seen |! a |! fair-catch |! signal |! made |! by |! the |! teammate |! of |! the |! receiver, |! there |! is |! no |! foul. |! However, |! if |! he |! could |! have |! seen |! the |! signal, |! he |! does |! not |! have |! license |! to |! contact |! the |! receiver. |! (4-2-2g)
taking |! the |! result |! of |! the |! play, |! the |! ball |! at |! the |! spot |! of |! first |! touching, |! an |! awarded |! fair |! catch |! or |! of |! penalizing |! K |! 15 |! yards from |! the |! previous |! spot |! and |! replaying |! the |! down. |! If |! R |! chooses |! to |! take |! the |! result |! of |! the |! down, |! it |! would |! be |! R's |! ball |! where |! K3 |! caught |! it. |! In |! (b), |! the |! play |! is |! legal |! and |! the |! ball |! is |! dead |! as |! soon |! as |! K3 |! catches |! it. |! The |! spot |! of |! the |! catch |! is |! also |! a |! spot |! of |! first touching |! and |! R |! will |! put |! the |! ball |! in |! play |! on |! that |! yard |! line, |! first |! and |! 10. Kick-catching |! interference- |! 6.5.6 |! Situation |! C: K5, |! running |! down |! field |! under |! a |! punt, |! has |! the |! kick |! strike |! him |! on |! his |! helmet: |! (a) |! R1 |! is |! in |! a |! position |! to |! catch |! the |! kick |! if |! he |! so |! chooses; |! or (b) |! no |! R |! player |! is |! in |! position |! to |! be |! able |! to |! get |! to |! the |! ball |! and |! catch |! it. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! In |! (a), |! K5 |! has |! committed |! kick-catching |! interference. |! In |! (b), |! there |! is |! no |! foul. Kick-catching |! interference- |! *6.5.6 |! Situation |! D: K1's |! punt |! is |! high |! but |! short. |! R2, |! from |! well |! down |! field, |! runs toward |! the |! ball |! to |! get |! in |! position |! to |! attempt |! to |! catch |! it. |! K2 |! is |! also |! moving |! toward |! the |! ball |! or |! just |! standing |! there |! when: |! (a) |! K2 |! is |! contacted |! by |! R2; |! or |! (b) |! K2 |! causes |! R2 |! to |! veer |! away |! from |! the |! ball |! but |! there |! is |! no |! contact |! by |! K2. |! The |! ball |! strikes |! the |! ground |! and |! is |! recovered |! by |! R3. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! K2 |! has |! committed |! kick-catching |! interference |! in |! both |! (a) |! and |! (b) |! since |! K2 |! did |! not |! provide |! R2 |! an |! unmolested |! opportunity |! to |! catch |! the |! ball. |! R |! may |! choose |! an |! awarded |! fair |! catch, |! the |! result |! of |! the |! play, |! or |! choose |! to |! penalize |! K |! 15 |! yards |! from |! the |! previous |! spot |! and |! have |! the |! down |! replayed. Kick-catching |! interference- |! 6.5.6 |! Situation |! E:
While |! K1's |! punt |! is |! in |! flight |! beyond |! the |! neutral |! zone, |! R2 |! (a) gives |! a |! valid |! fair |! catch |! signal, |! or |! (b) |! does |! not |! give |! a |! signal. |! The |! ball |! strikes |! R2 |! on |! the |! shoulder |! and |! bounces |! high |! into |! the |! air. |! While |! the |! loose |! ball |! is |! still |! airborne, |! K4 |! pushes |! R2 |! in |! the |! chest |! and |! K4 |! catches |! the |! ball |! at |! that |! spot. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! In |! both |! cases, |! the |! ball |! is |! dead |! when |! K4 |! catches |! it. |! There |! is |! no |! foul |! for |! kick-catching |! interference |! since |! R2's |! protection |! ended |! when |! the |! kick |! was |! touched. Invalid |! signal- |! 6.5.7 |! Situation |! A: Fourth |! and |! 5 |! for |! K |! on |! its |! own |! 9-yard |! line. |! K1's |! punt |! is |! very high |! and |! very |! short, |! but |! it |! goes |! beyond |! the |! expanded |! neutral |! zone. |! R1 |! gives |! an |! invalid |! fair-catch |! signal |! at |! K's |! 20-yard |! line |! and |! the |! untouched |! kick |! hits |! the |! ground |! and |! rebounds |! behind |! the |! neutral |! zone |! where |! K1 |! recovers |! and |! is |! downed |! at |! his |! own |! 10-yard |! line. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! This |! is |! a |! post-scrimmage |! kick |! foul |! and |! the |! ball belongs |! to |! R |! by |! rule. |! If |! K |! accepts |! the |! penalty |! for |! R's |! foul, |! it |! will |! be |! R's |! ball |! on |! K's |! 25-yard |! line |! and |! first |! and |! 10, |! as |! the |! kick |! ended |! at |! K's |! 10-yard |! line |! and |! the |! foul |! was |! behind |! the |! basic |! spot. |! (2-16-2h) Invalid |! signal- |! 6.5.7 |! Situation |! B: During |! a |! scrimmage |! kick, |! R1 |! signals |! for |! a |! fair |! catch |! by: (a) |! extending |! and |! holding |! one |! arm |! above |! his |! head; |! or |! (b) |! partially |! extending |! and |! waving |! one |! hand |! in |! front |! of |! his |! face; |! or |! (c) |! fully |! extending |! and |! laterally |! waving |! both |! hands |! above |! his |! head; |! or |! (d) |! extending |! and |! laterally |! waving |! one |! arm |! at |! full length |! above |! his |! head. |! - |! Correct |! answer |! ✔Ruling: |! The |! signals |! in |! (a), |! (b) |! and |! (c) |! are |! invalid. |! In |! (d), |! the |! signal |! is |! valid. |! Giving |! an |! invalid |! signal |! is |! a |!