Docsity
Docsity

Prepare for your exams
Prepare for your exams

Study with the several resources on Docsity


Earn points to download
Earn points to download

Earn points by helping other students or get them with a premium plan


Guidelines and tips
Guidelines and tips

2022 OHSAA Baseball Online Test Exam: Questions and Answers, Exams of Nursing

A series of questions and answers related to the 2022 ohsaa baseball online test exam. It covers various aspects of baseball rules, including player conduct, equipment regulations, and specific scenarios during gameplay. Useful for individuals preparing for the ohsaa baseball online test exam or those seeking to deepen their understanding of baseball rules.

Typology: Exams

2024/2025

Available from 02/09/2025

Nadalia1
Nadalia1 🇬🇧

5

(2)

2.3K documents

1 / 23

Toggle sidebar

This page cannot be seen from the preview

Don't miss anything!

bg1
2022 OHSAA Baseball Online Test Exam
Question & Answer 2025
B4 hits a ball into the left-center gap. As he rounds 1st he deliberately
removes his batting helmet as he goes to 2nd, where he is safe. Since
B4's team had previously been warned about the removal of the
helmet while in live-ball territory, while the ball is live, at the end of
playing action:
a. B4 is called out. B4 and B4's coach are restricted to the dugout for
the duration of the game.
b. No penalty. B4 remains in the game at 2nd.
c. B4 is called out and ejected.
d. At the end of playing action B4 is ejected and a substitute takes his
place on base. No out is declared. - Correct Answers D
The catcher removes his equipment and leaves it lying on the ground
outside the dugout. A thrown ball rolls into his mask/helmet.
a. All outs recorded before the ball rolled into the mask/helmet are
negated.
b. The coach is restricted for the duration of the game for allowing the
equipment be left outside the dugout in live ball territory.
c. The catcher is ejected for leaving his equipment outside the dugout
in live ball territory.
d. All outs, awarded bases, or returned runners are based on the
umpire's judgment and the circumstances of the play. - Correct
Answers D
pf3
pf4
pf5
pf8
pf9
pfa
pfd
pfe
pff
pf12
pf13
pf14
pf15
pf16
pf17

Partial preview of the text

Download 2022 OHSAA Baseball Online Test Exam: Questions and Answers and more Exams Nursing in PDF only on Docsity!

Question & Answer 2025

B4 hits a ball into the left-center gap. As he rounds 1st he deliberately removes his batting helmet as he goes to 2nd, where he is safe. Since B4's team had previously been warned about the removal of the helmet while in live-ball territory, while the ball is live, at the end of playing action: a. B4 is called out. B4 and B4's coach are restricted to the dugout for the duration of the game. b. No penalty. B4 remains in the game at 2nd. c. B4 is called out and ejected. d. At the end of playing action B4 is ejected and a substitute takes his place on base. No out is declared. - Correct Answers ✅D The catcher removes his equipment and leaves it lying on the ground outside the dugout. A thrown ball rolls into his mask/helmet. a. All outs recorded before the ball rolled into the mask/helmet are negated. b. The coach is restricted for the duration of the game for allowing the equipment be left outside the dugout in live ball territory. c. The catcher is ejected for leaving his equipment outside the dugout in live ball territory. d. All outs, awarded bases, or returned runners are based on the umpire's judgment and the circumstances of the play. - Correct Answers ✅D

Question & Answer 2025

If an on-deck batter wishes to warm up, he; a. can be just outside the batter's box. b. can be in the other team's on-deck circle. c. must be in his team's on-deck circle only. d. can be behind the catcher while the pitcher is warming up. - Correct Answers ✅C With 2 outs, Wilson singles to drive in 2 runs. The home coach comes to the plate umpire and shows him that Wilson is listed as #4 on the lineup card but is actually #10. He wants Wilson called out and the runs negated. a. Because Wilson is listed on the line up card by the wrong number, he is called out for the 3rd out. No runs score. b. Because Wilson is listed on the line up card by the wrong number, he is called out for the 3rd out, however, the runs score. c. Wilson is restricted to the dugout and a sub takes his place on base. All runs score. d. Wilson being listed on the line up card by the wrong shirt number does not affect the play. The player's number on the line up card must be corrected. All runs score. - Correct Answers ✅D Team A's pitcher goes to the mound to begin his warm up throws. The umpire notices that he is wearing a dark compression sleeve on his

Question & Answer 2025

d. the instant the pitcher moves his arm(s) or leg(s) to come set. - Correct Answers ✅C With both hands at his side in the windup position, the time of the pitch occurs when the pitcher: a. moves one hand in front of his body. b. starts any movement with both arms. c. starts any movement with his non-pitching arm. d. A and C - Correct Answers ✅D No outs R3 on 3rd and R1 on 1st. R1 breaks for second as the pitcher begins his stretch. Because R3 is on 3rd, the pitcher continues his stretch ignoring R1. R1 reaches second and rounds the base as the pitcher comes set. The pitcher then delivers a legal pitch and the batter fouls the ball into the stands. a. R1 must return 1st base. b. R1 remains at 2nd because he had legally attained the base before the time of the pitch. c. R1 is called out. d. None of the above - Correct Answers ✅B

Question & Answer 2025

R2 on 2nd is attempting to steal 3rd. B2's lines the ball into right field for a hit. F5, in order to prevent R2 from scoring, fakes a tag as he is coming into 3rd forcing him to slide. a. This is interference. b. This a legal play. R2 remains at 3rd. c. This results in B2 being awarded 3 bases. d. This is obstruction. R2 is awarded third base and can be award home if, in the umpires judgement, he would have scored except for the obstruction - Correct Answers ✅D With one out and a 1-1 count, the batter hits a high fly ball to left field near the foul line. While the ball is still in the air, the umpire inadvertently declares "foul ball". a. If the ball is caught in the air by a fielder, the batter is out and ball remains live. b. If the ball is not caught by a fielder and falls to the ground in fair territory, the ball is immediately dead as soon as it touches the ground. The batter returns to bat with at 1-2 count. c. If the ball is not caught and falls to the ground in foul territory, it is immediately dead as soon as it hits the ground. The batter returns to bat with 1-2 count. d. All of the above - Correct Answers ✅A

Question & Answer 2025

c. any part of the catcher's body and is legally caught by the pitcher. d. any part of the catcher's body and is legally caught by the catcher only. - Correct Answers ✅B With R1 on 1st and B3 at bat, R1 attempts to steal 2nd. As F2 attempts to throw R1 out he is inadvertently contacted by the plate umpire causing him to drop the ball. a. If R1 reaches 2nd safely, umpire interference is called and R1 must return to 1st. b. If R1 is thrown out at 2nd, umpire interference is ignored and R1's out stands c. R1 is awarded 2nd base. d. Both A and B - Correct Answers ✅D B4 hits a long fly ball to left-center that F8 makes a great running catch on. F8 continues on and runs into a waist high outfield fence. The ball pops out of his glove and goes over the fence. a. This is a catch. The batter is out and ball remains live. b. This is not a catch. It is declared a ground rule double. c. The ball is dead and B4 is awarded 3rd base. d. The ball is dead and B4 is awarded 1st base. - Correct Answers ✅B

Question & Answer 2025

If no announcement of a sub for a runner is made, he is considered to have entered the game when; a. the runner takes the place of a runner he has replaced and the ball is made live. b. he has been finally reported to the umpire-in-chief. c. the player being subbed for leaves the field. d. when he has taken the place of the runner he is subbing for. - Correct Answers ✅A The coach of Team A comes out to the mound to talk with his pitcher in the 5th inning. If he does not remove his pitcher, this will be his 3rd charged conference. After talking with the pitcher the coach starts to return to the dugout/bench without removing the pitcher. After crossing the foul line the coach decides he needs to tell the pitcher something else and returns to the mound. a. The coach's 3rd charged conference ended when he crossed the foul line. Returning to talk with his pitcher would be his 4th charged conference. The coach must replace the pitcher. b. This is still part of the coach's 3rd charged conference since he had not reached the dugout. He does not have to replace the pitcher. c. The coach must replace the pitcher on the 3rd charged conference. d. A team gets 5 charged conferences per 7 inning game. - Correct Answers ✅A

Question & Answer 2025

a. S1 is called out and restricted to the dugout. B4's home run is negated and he leads off the next inning. No runs score. b. The coach did not bring the illegal sub to the umpire's attention in time. S1 and B4's runs count. S1 is restricted. c. S1 is called out and restricted to the dugout. S1's run is negated but B4's run counts. d. The coach did not bring the illegal sub to the umpire's attention in time. S1 and B4's runs count. S1 becomes an unreported sub and can remain in the game. - Correct Answers ✅D Brown is listed as the starting pitcher on Team A's lineup card, batting in the 9 hole. Team A in the top of the 1st is still at bat when Brown's second turn at bat comes again. The coach for Team A decides to sub a pinch hitter for Brown. a. Since Brown has not had the opportunity to fulfill the rule by pitching to at least one batter, he is still eligible to pitch in the bottom of the 1st. b. Since Brown did not fulfill the rule by pitching to at least one batter, he is ineligible to pitch in the game. c. Since Brown did not fulfill the rule by pitching to at least one batter, he cannot pitch until the next inning. d. Since Brown did not fulfill the rule, he is ejected. - Correct Answers ✅A The assistant coach who is occupying the first base coaching box is irate over an "out" call on a steal at second base. The assistant coach goes to

Question & Answer 2025

the area around second base and while arguing the call kicks dirt on the base umpire. a. The assistant coach is ejected for kicking dirt. No written warning is needed. b. The head coach is restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game. c. No one is ejected or restricted to the bench. A written warning must first be given. d. Both A and B. - Correct Answers ✅D A dead ball becomes live when: a. it is held by the pitcher in a legal pitching position on the rubber, the batter and catcher are in their respective boxes, and the umpire calls "play." b. the pitcher is in a legal pitching position on the rubber. c. the batter enters the batter's box, even if the pitcher is not on the rubber. d. the catcher is in his box, even with the batter outside the batter's box. - Correct Answers ✅A The runner that misses a base and is on or beyond a succeeding base when the ball becomes dead,; a. may not return to touch the missed base, and can be called out upon proper and successful appeal.

Question & Answer 2025

d. Due to the ball hitting in the dirt, it is no longer a pitch. The ball remains live but B1 is considered to have interfered. He is called out. - Correct Answers ✅B The base umpire, who is standing in foul territory, is hit by a fair ground ball, after it has passed F3. The ball caroms back to F3 who fields the ball and touches first before the batter-runner arrives. a. When the ball hit the umpire the ball became dead. The BR is awarded 1st. b. Due to the ball being a fair ball, having passed F3, and then striking U1, the ball remains live. The BR is out. - Correct Answers ✅B With runners on base, while on the pitcher's plate, F1 goes to his mouth and then wipes his hand off. a. A ball is awarded to the batter. b. This is a balk. c. A ball is awarded to the batter and a balk is called. d. Time is called and the ball replaced. - Correct Answers ✅B R3 on 3rd and R2 on 2nd. F1 assumes the wind-up position with his pivot foot on a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher's plate. His non-pivot is entirely in front of the line extending through the front edge of the pitcher's plate.

Question & Answer 2025

a. At the time of the pitch, a balk shall be called. All runners are awarded one base. b. At the time of the pitch, a balk shall be called. All runners are awarded one base and the batter is awarded a ball. c. At the time of the pitch, an illegal pitch shall be called. The batter is awarded a ball. Runners remain at their respective bases. d. This a legal pitching position, nothing is called. - Correct Answers ✅A R3 on 3rd and R1 on 1st. F1 comes set. F1 steps toward 3rd and fakes a throw to 3rd to drive R3 back. He disengages the rubber and then turns and fakes a throw to 1st. a. This is an illegal move. A balk is called. b. This is a legal move. No balk. c. This is an illegal move. A ball is awarded to the batter. d. This is an illegal move. R3 is awarded home and R1 2nd and the batter a ball. - Correct Answers ✅B The batter swings at a third strike and the ball hits him. a. The batter is charged with a strike and called out. He is not awarded 1st for being hit by the pitch. b. The batter is awarded 1st base due to being hit by the pitch. c. Neither a ball or strike is awarded. The ball is dead, no pitch.

Question & Answer 2025

c. B4's actions are legal since he did not directly interfere with the pitcher covering home. d. This obstruction on F1. R3 is awarded home. - Correct Answers ✅A One out, R3 on third, R1 on first. R1 attempts to steal second. B interferes with the catcher on his throw to second. F6 cuts off the catcher's throw, and throws home in at attempt to put out R3, who is attempting to score. a. B4's interference is ignored. R3 is out and R1 remains at 2nd. b. Interference is called on B4. When the catcher's initial throw did not result in R1 being called out at 2nd, the ball is immediately dead. R returns to 3rd, R1 returns to 1st, and B4 is called out for interference. c. R3 is called out at home and R1 is returned to 1st. B4's interference is ignored since R3 is called out. d. R1 is called out at 2nd. R3 returns to 3rd base and B4 remains at bat.

  • Correct Answers ✅D No outs, R3 on third and R1 on first. R1 attempts to steal second. B interferes with F2, but F2's throw gets R1 out. During the play at second, R3 scores. a. Due to R1 being thrown out at 2nd, B4's interference is ignored and R3 counts. b. Even though R1 was thrown out at 2nd, interference is still called on B4 resulting in R3 being sent back to 3rd.

Question & Answer 2025

c. Even though R1 was thrown out at 2nd, interference is still called on B4 resulting in R3 being called out also. d. The defensive team has the option of taking the result of the play, R1's out at 2nd and R3 scoring, or B4's interference. B4 out, R1 and R returned to their respective bases. - Correct Answers ✅A One out and R3 on 3rd. F1 is on the pitcher's plate in the wind-up position. R3 attempts to steal home. F1 seeing R3 break for home legally steps back off the pitcher's plate with his pivot foot first and throws to F2. B2, with 1-0 count swings at the throw. a. This is interference on B2 and a delayed dead ball. If R3 is tagged out at home the interference is ignored. If R3 is not tagged out, R3 is out due to B2's interference. B2 remains at bat. b. If B2's swing at the throw does not make contact there is no interference on B2, and the ball remains live. R3's run counts if he is safe at home. B2 remains at bat. c. F1's action is considered to be a pitch. Any action by B2's is considered legal. d. Any attempt to hit the throw by B2 is considered interference. The ball becomes dead, and both he and R3 are called out. - Correct Answers ✅A A batter is declared out when he hits the ball, foul or fair, : a. and either foot or knee is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box.

Question & Answer 2025

d. R1 is returned to 1st and B2 remains at bat. The pitch Is ignored. - Correct Answers ✅B B3 has a 3-2 count. He swings at the next pitch and it contacts his hand without hitting the bat and goes into foul territory. a. The ball is dead immediately due to the pitch hitting B3. B3 is out due to his swinging at the pitch for strike three. b. The ball is dead immediately and B3 is awarded 1st due his being hit by the pitch. c. Because the hands are part of the bat when batting, the ball is declared a foul ball. d. The pitch is declared a strike or ball according to where the pitch was when it passed the plate. - Correct Answers ✅A One out and R1 on first. The batter hits a ball that bounces over the fence in fair territory for a two base award. As the batter-runner rounds first he passes R1, who is unobstructed, between first and second. a. R1 is declared out due to letting the BR pass him. b. The BR is declared out for passing R1 an unobstructed runner. c. Both R1 and the BR are declared out. d. The BR is declared out and R1 returned to 1st. - Correct Answers ✅B

Question & Answer 2025

R1 is on first. The pitch is in the dirt and is blocked by the catcher. As the ball is rolling away, the catcher removes his mask/helmet and uses it to stop the ball. a. R1 is awarded two bases due to the pitch being touched by detached player equipment. b. R1 is awarded one base due to the pitch being touched by detached player equipment. c. R1 is awarded three bases due to the pitch being touched by detached player equipment. d. R1 is awarded home due to the pitch being touched by detached player equipment. - Correct Answers ✅C With R1 on 1st and no outs, B2 singles to the outfield. R1 rounds 2nd and goes to 3rd. B2 rounds 1st and goes one-third of the way toward 2nd. Seeing he can't make it B2 retreats toward 1st. F7 throws to 1st to try to get B2 but the ball gets by F3. B2 is obstructed by F3 in his attempt to get back to 1st. On the overthrow R1 attempts to score, while B2 remains at 1st. F4 is backing up the play and gets the ball and throws R1 out at home. a. Because of the obstruction of B2, he is awarded 2nd. R1's out is ignored and he is put back at 3rd. b. Because of the obstruction of B2, he is awarded 2nd. Since B2's obstruction has no bearing on R1, his out at home stands. c. There is no obstruction of B2 going back into 1st since the ball got by F3. All runners advance at their own risk.